Fedora Core 4

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Thu Jun 16, 2005 8:24 am

Atually, I mean stuff like Synaptic, xmms, mplayer, ogle and other goodies... (I did a fresh install)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Jun 16, 2005 10:39 am

I just checked my MPlayer and it's the FC4 version from FreshRPMS so I would say that the repos are already updated. Check your sources.list to make sure they are correct. I don't believe there is an FC4 version of synaptic out yet though. I think it also took a while for the FC3 version to come out after FC3 was released for some reason. I don't use it personally so it doesn't bother me that much.

insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:13 am

Void Main wrote:I just checked my MPlayer and it's the FC4 version from FreshRPMS so I would say that the repos are already updated. Check your sources.list to make sure they are correct. I don't believe there is an FC4 version of synaptic out yet though. I think it also took a while for the FC3 version to come out after FC3 was released for some reason. I don't use it personally so it doesn't bother me that much.
It still gives me the following message:
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.

Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
that package should be filed.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
mplayer: Depends: libaa.so.1 but it is not installable
Depends: liblirc_client.so.0 but it is not installable
Depends: liblzo.so.1 but it is not installable
E: Broken packages
So I take I still have to wait a little(or go for backwards compatibility)?

PS: I took this apt package:
http://dag.wieers.com/packages/apt/apt- ... f.i386.rpm

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Jun 16, 2005 12:07 pm

Can you post the output of your "apt-get update" command? You should not get that message.

insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Thu Jun 16, 2005 12:56 pm

Oops, seems you're right (strange I misseded that the first time) :
Get:1 http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386 release [1825B]
Get:2 http://apt.sw.be fedora/4/en/i386 release [474B]
Ign http://apt.sw.be dries/fedora/fc4/i386 release
Ign http://newrpms.sunsite.dk redhat/en/i386/fc4 release
Fetched 2299B in 0s (11,2kB/s)
Hit http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386/freshrpms pkglist
Hit http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386/freshrpms release
Hit http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386/core pkglist
Hit http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386/core release
Get:1 http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386/updates pkglist [56,3kB]
Hit http://apt.sw.be fedora/4/en/i386/dag pkglist
Hit http://apt.sw.be fedora/4/en/i386/dag release
Err http://apt.sw.be dries/fedora/fc4/i386/dries pkglist
404 Not Found
Ign http://apt.sw.be dries/fedora/fc4/i386/dries release
Hit http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386/updates release
Err http://newrpms.sunsite.dk redhat/en/i386/fc4/newrpms pkglist
404 Not Found
Ign http://newrpms.sunsite.dk redhat/en/i386/fc4/newrpms release
Fetched 56,3kB in 5s (10,8kB/s)
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/dries/fedora/fc4/i386/ ... list.dries 404 Not Found
Failed to fetch http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/redhat/en ... st.newrpms 404 Not Found
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
E: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
So I'll better make my own list (so their's something wrong with the sources.list.d from that apt package?)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:03 pm

They are probably right it's just that dries and newrpms probably do not have their FC4 repos up yet. You could just comment them out. If you had done a "apt-get update" prior to trying the "apt-get install mplayer" it should have worked (even with those two update errors). Could you post the full output of the "apt-get install mplayer" command?

insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:45 pm

Void Main wrote: If you had done a "apt-get update" prior to trying the "apt-get install mplayer" it should have worked (even with those two update errors).
I did (just didn't notice the error message).
Void Main wrote: Could you post the full output of the "apt-get install mplayer" command?
The same as above:
[root@localhost jens]# apt-get install mplayer
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.

Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
that package should be filed.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
mplayer: Depends: libaa.so.1 but it is not installable
Depends: liblirc_client.so.0 but it is not installable
Depends: liblzo.so.1 but it is not installable
E: Broken packages

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:08 pm

I see what the problem is now. It appears that Dag doesn't have all of his packages built for FC4 yet and I did an "upgrade" so MPLayer was upgraded but I still have the FC3 versions of aalib, lirc, and lzo. You should be able to install the FC3 versions of those for now:

http://dag.wieers.com/packages/aalib/aa ... f.i386.rpm
http://dag.wieers.com/packages/lirc/lir ... f.i386.rpm
http://dag.wieers.com/packages/lzo/lzo- ... f.i386.rpm

After installing those apt should be able to install MPlayer. That's a little ugly but it should be sorted out soon I am sure.

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:08 pm

It relies from a package from the DAG repository, which you don't have added.

EDIT: Oops, you do.

insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Thu Jun 16, 2005 2:35 pm

Void Main wrote:I see what the problem is now. It appears that Dag doesn't have all of his packages built for FC4 yet and I did an "upgrade" so MPLayer was upgraded but I still have the FC3 versions of aalib, lirc, and lzo. You should be able to install the FC3 versions of those for now:

http://dag.wieers.com/packages/aalib/aa ... f.i386.rpm
http://dag.wieers.com/packages/lirc/lir ... f.i386.rpm
http://dag.wieers.com/packages/lzo/lzo- ... f.i386.rpm

After installing those apt should be able to install MPlayer. That's a little ugly but it should be sorted out soon I am sure.
Thanks, it runs fine now :)

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Sat Jun 18, 2005 5:49 am

Hi Guys.
Void Main:
I just created my own FC4 repo by downloading the DVD, mounting it on a loop, symbolic linking all the RPMS to my RPMS.os repo directory and then upgrade my machines from it. FreshRPMS does have the FC4 RPMS.updates repo.
I'm on a slow link and only download the CD images.
How do I go about doing something like this with the CD images?
Tried something similiar a while ago on another machine - but
never got it to work.

Tx.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:56 am

Yes, I have done it with CD images as well. Do you know how to mount the CDs on a loop? This is what I would do:

Code: Select all

# mkdir /iso
# mkdir -p /loop/fc4d1
# mkdir /loop/fc4d2
# mkdir /loop/fc4d3
# mkdir /loop/fc4d4
Move your CD images into the /iso directory and add this to your /etc/fstab:

Code: Select all

/iso/FC4-i386-disc1.iso  /loop/fc4d1             iso9660 ro,loop         0 0
/iso/FC4-i386-disc2.iso  /loop/fc4d2             iso9660 ro,loop         0 0
/iso/FC4-i386-disc3.iso  /loop/fc4d3             iso9660 ro,loop         0 0
/iso/FC4-i386-disc4.iso  /loop/fc4d4             iso9660 ro,loop         0 0
Mount them:

Code: Select all

# mount /loop/fc4d1
# mount /loop/fc4d2
# mount /loop/fc4d3
# mount /loop/fc4d4
Create the RPMS and base directories for the repo and sym link the proper files:

Code: Select all

# mkdir -p /var/www/html/apt/fedora/4/base
# mkdir /var/www/html/apt/fedora/4/RPMS.os
# cd /var/www/html/apt/fedora/4/RPMS.os
# ln -s /loop/fc4d*/Fedora/RPMS/*rpm .
Create two files in the base directory that contain this:

Name: release
Contents:

Code: Select all

Label: Fedora Core 4
Suite: Fedora Core 4
Architectures: i386
Components: os
Description: caveman Files
Name: release.os
Contents:

Code: Select all

Archive: stable
Component: os
Version: 4
Origin: www.caveman.com
Label: Fedora Linux 4
Architecture: i386
NotAutomatic: false
Now you have to run a command against this repository to build a package list and then you can use it. You will have to run this command any time you add/delete/change RPMS in your RPMS.os directory:

Code: Select all

genbasedir --flat --bloat --bz2only /var/www/html/apt/fedora/4 os
That's it. Now on the machines you want to use this repo for your "os" files use this line in your /etc/apt/sources.list.d/os.list:

Code: Select all

rpm http://www.caveman.com apt/fedora/4 os
Change "www.caveman.com" to whatever the name of your internal web server name is that you installed this repository on and that your clients know how to get to.

Of course this requires that you have Apache installed and started.

Good luck!
Last edited by Void Main on Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:57 am

Ok,

mkdir -p /tmp/fedora/RPMS.core
cd /tmp/fedora/RPMS.core
mount cd1.iso /mnt/cd1 -o loop
mount cd2.iso /mnt/cd2 -o loop
mount cd3.iso /mnt/cd3 -o loop
ln -s /mnt/cd1/Fedora/RPMS/* .
ln -s /mnt/cd2/Fedora/RPMS/* .
ln -s /mnt/cd3/Fedora/RPMS/* .
genbasedir --bloat /tmp/fedora

Then add a line 'rpm file://tmp fedora core' to /etc/apt/souces.list.d/os.list

apt-get update; apt-get dist-upgrade

EDIT: Crud, beaten again :D

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:59 am

Heh heh, beat you! :)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sat Jun 18, 2005 8:01 am

Actually I just learned something from Tux. I didn't realize you could use file:// URLs and install from a local repo. Thanks!!

Post Reply