Fedora Core 4

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Sat Jun 18, 2005 2:51 pm

Tx guys....

And as I looked through the answers I also saw what I missed when
I tried it earlier....
Didn't add the "--bloat" switch to genbasedir and couldn't understand
what was wrong - now reading the man pages again, it makes
sense.

Shall try it - hopefully - late on Sunday or early Monday.

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Sat Jun 18, 2005 4:23 pm

Void Main wrote:Actually I just learned something from Tux. I didn't realize you could use file:// URLs and install from a local repo. Thanks!!
Hehe. :)
It's useful for upgrading a single box.

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Mon Jun 27, 2005 4:41 pm

Yay, I finally have some FC4 problems!
[lholcombe@holcombe2 ~]$ synaptic
synaptic: error while loading shared libraries: librpm-4.3.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
[lholcombe@holcombe2 ~]$ apt-get
apt-get: error while loading shared libraries: librpm-4.3.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
This is mere moments after upgrading from FC3. I adjusted my apt sources for 4, but can't get in. Help!

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:08 pm

Install the new version of apt and then check that your rpm and rpm* packages are up to 4.4.
I linked this for Jim in another thread, it's from DAG's site.

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:26 pm

Okay, I did that. In order to get synaptic going, I had to install apt, apt-devel, yelp, gnome-doc-utils, and finally synaptic. I did all of this via the website interface to freshrpms:
http://ayo.freshrpms.net/fedora/linux/4/i386/

Well, synaptic works now. Unfortunately, it won't connect to anything. I have the following setup:
rpm http://apt.sw.be fedora/4/en/i386 dag
rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386 freshrpms

You'd think that would set me straight, but it doesn't. Anybody got any ideas?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:45 pm

I don't understand why you are having problems. All you should have had to do is install the FC4 apt from Dag's site and then:

# apt-get update
# apt-get dist-upgrade

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:02 pm

Hi.

Upgraded my main workstation from fc3 to fc4 - after a few problems
and all now seems well.

Tried upgrading my laptop -
a) it gave me some warnings - but these were off the screen by the
time I noticed.
b) It rebooted with fc4 - but there is no rpm, no apt, no yum
installed??? any ideas on how to fix this? without having to
burn a cd and run a repair?

I'm stuck as I have no idea what is installed/upgraded on the machine!
and none of the X windows starts properly.. starts up with just an empty
blank white screen!

Any ideas out there?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:12 pm

Caveman, how did you upgrade your laptop? I assume not from CD as you say you don't have any CDs. If you can, I would always suggest doing the upgrade from the recommended way by booting from CD/DVD. Upgrading from FC3 to FC4 is somewhat risky as you have to do things in a certain order and there usually are problems that have to be manually resolved afterwards. For instance, on all the machines I upgraded via apt I had two copies of sendmail installed and had to manually "rpm -e" the old version specifically. The CD upgrades went flawlessly on all the ones I have done.

If you don't actually have "rpm" installed then things could be a little difficult. I have no idea how that could have happened and not being able to see what your dist-upgrade output said before you told it to continue I can't tell what packages would have been added/upgraded/removed, etc. If the rpm command really is missing then I would guess you would have to extract the binary "rpm" package via rpm2cpio and cpio and probably have to do the same for any dependent packages. Hopefully your rpm database is still there (/var/lib/rpm/*). If that directory exists I would at least make a backup of it.

EDIT: Actually I just remembered that I did have a problem with X on my main desktop after upgrading via apt. If I recall correctly it was a "pango" issue and I just had to run a pango command to recreate some file. If it looks like that is your problem I am pretty sure I can come up with the command necessary to fix it.

EDIT2: I remember the problem was my /etc/pango/i386-redhat-linux-gnu/pango.modules file was empty or missing. It can be created by doing this:

Code: Select all

# pango-querymodules-32 > /etc/pango/i386-redhat-linux-gnu/pango.modules

insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:26 pm

Void Main wrote:I don't understand why you are having problems. All you should have had to do is install the FC4 apt from Dag's site:
It seems to be gone :?
http://dag.wieers.com/packages/apt/

How should my sources.list look for Dag, Dries and Freshrpms in Core 4?
(I accidentally deleted it)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:39 pm

I don't know what the heck they are doing over there lately. I've been trying to follow the mailing list over at FreshRPMS and things just don't add up. At any rate you could grab the SRPM, build and install it:

# wget http://dag.wieers.com/packages/apt/apt- ... rf.src.rpm
# rpmbuild --rebuild apt-0.5.15cnc6-4.rf.src.rpm
# rpm -Uvh /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/apt-0.5.15cnc6-4.rf.i386.rpm

Or you can find the FC4 version that *used* to be in that directory you point to here:

http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/files/RPMS/apt/

The sources.list.d/*.list files that come in the RPM should be sufficient.

insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:12 pm

Thanks (again).
I took your file since that source file gave me dependency problems.
"http://newrpms.sunsite.dk redhat/en/i386/fc4/newrpms pkglist" doesn't seem to work anymore though...

PS: Could it be that they still not fully support FC4?
Non of their(DAG, Dries, FresRPMS) FAQs or HOWTOs seem to say they do...

EDit: Untill(if) they do, is it safe to keep making rpms from their srpms?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Sep 07, 2005 6:15 am

I have been running FC4 since the day it came out and using Dag's (and friends) repositories ever since with no problems. I think a lot of answers to your questions can be found on the mailing list:

http://lists.freshrpms.net/pipermail/freshrpms-list/

I think they are in the process of building a combined site which I think when finished will be pretty cool:

http://rpmforge.net/

I also think that right now Dag's site actually is not hosting FC4 packages but Dries will contain all the FC4 packages (Dries is one of the apt repos that is configured in the apt package you got):

http://rpmforge.net/packager/distributions/

Other than that, I don't know much more. I've been meaning to ask a few questions on the list about it.

Post Reply