Another disk f***up :(

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
Post Reply
User avatar
Basher52
guru
guru
Posts: 916
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:57 am
Location: .SE

Another disk f***up :(

Post by Basher52 » Fri May 20, 2005 6:49 am

i just realized that i have something, not so good, on one drive.
when i try to do a: fsck.ext3 -v -p /dev/sdc1

i get this...:

/dev/sdc1: The filesystem size (according to the superblock) is 30525500 blocks
The physical size of the device is 30519475 blocks
Either the superblock or the partition table is likely to be corrupt!

/dev/sdc1: UNEXPECTED INCONSISTENCY; RUN fsck MANUALLY.
(i.e., without -a or -p options)



when trying manually...:

e2fsck 1.35 (28-Feb-2004)
The filesystem size (according to the superblock) is 30525500 blocks
The physical size of the device is 30519475 blocks
Either the superblock or the partition table is likely to be corrupt!
Abort<y>? no

/dev/sdc1 contains a file system with errors, check forced.
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Error reading block 30521667 (Invalid argument) while reading indirect blocks of inode 32782. Ignore error<y>? yes
Force rewrite<y>? yes
etc etc


is there a way to TRY to fix this?
if so... what do i do
The partition as about 111GByte

B52

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Fri May 20, 2005 2:17 pm

Not sure if it is the same problem... but
I had something similiar a while ago.
Did a manual fsck fix when booting and when I reboot
the problem with those huge numbers were back.

a) Read somewhere it is because the way m$ does partitioning,
and as I had a ntfs partition there as well,
I started in single user mode, gzip tar'red everything off the partitions
onto another machine and recreated the partitions using the Linux tools.
Then untar'rd everything back into the respective partitions.
b) This worked for while - and boing!! the problem is back.
Did the same as above - but this time round I created all the Linux
partitions at the beginning of the drive and the ntfs partitions at the back.
AND i made sure the extended partions were of type 5 "extended" and NOT
that awfull type f "W95 Ext'd".
Fixed my fstab etc. .....

(can't remember why - but I think I saw that in a forum somewheres
about ntfs sometimes fooling around with sector zero of ajacent
non-m$ partitions.)

Haven't tried putting the ntfs partitions in front and the Linux ones at
the back - but maybe for fun I'll try it somewhere in the future.

This is a good 6 months ago, and sofar (touch wood) I haven't had
any of those problems again.

O - yes , it was a fairly new disc drive - about 1 year old (120GB)

Hope this helps

User avatar
Basher52
guru
guru
Posts: 916
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:57 am
Location: .SE

Post by Basher52 » Fri May 20, 2005 4:14 pm

well... i made backups of all files, so if its totally gone, so be it. (Im used to it :P)

I dont use ntfs, its ext3 all the way on this drive and all other drives too in this computer.

My "guru" asked me about the power of my PSU and that aint much, so now i moved the powercords for two drives to an external PSU, just incase :P

should i do a 'fsck.ext3 -p -y' to this?
Or should i go manual, answering every question, since i really cant tell what to answer anyway :(

B52

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Sat May 21, 2005 6:02 am

hmm - forgetting is a bad habit..
what I failed to mention, on the second reorganising of that disk
I changed the 300W PSU with a new 350W PSU as the 12 volts
was all over the place when measured.
Might that have been my problem as well? but then - the other identical
drive on the same cable was and still is fine ( ext2 only ).

Me - I usually close my eyes and pray for the best and use the "-y"
switch, you don't really want to try and answer posssibly thousands of
prompts.

User avatar
Basher52
guru
guru
Posts: 916
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:57 am
Location: .SE

Post by Basher52 » Sat May 21, 2005 8:31 am

i did what you used to do, but that didnt work :(
it told me to do it manually so... i sat down put on a movie and started answering question :(
i only got about 3 minutes in... and thats it :D :D
all errors, not many of them are fixed :D

The bad part it, that I dont know what files may have been corrupted by this.
i just have to hope its none of the more important ones :P

Post Reply