Wanna install and use FluxBox in RH8?

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
Post Reply
bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Wanna install and use FluxBox in RH8?

Post by bazoukas » Sat Mar 01, 2003 7:12 pm

DownLoad the FluxBox tarball from here http://fluxbox.sourceforge.net/download.php


Untaring it and installing it.

Open your shell and type
tar xzvf "name of the FluxBox file".tar.gz
------------------------------
./configure and then
------------------------------
make
------------------------------
make install
-------------------------------


Making the damn thing Work under RedHat 8.0


Chances are you are using gdm as your Login manager.
You will need to create a small bash file. Open a text editor and type
#!/bin/sh exec fluxbox

Name it with whatever name that you want to see at your Login Screen
Now we need to place that file in the /etc/X11/gdm/Sessions
In there you will see all the other names of your Desktop Enviroments.

After you place it there, open your shell and change the Permissions
of the file that you just created to 755 by typing
chmod 755 /etc/X11/gdm/Sessions/"what ever name you gave the file with out the quotes"

Now gdm should be able to see Fluxbox. Log Out and select it and log in.
Enjoy.

bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by bazoukas » Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:11 am

so anybody done this?

The GUI helps alot with resources since its VERY and i do mean VERY light weight when it comes to consuming resources and that means you will need to know how to use shell to do many things

I use it, mostly when I wanna avoid using the KDE GUI.

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Fri Mar 21, 2003 10:09 am

i haven't tried it, out of interest, any idea how to do the same thing but for kfm? (which is what one would be using if they have mandrake)

bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by bazoukas » Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:55 pm

I dont have a clue mano.

I had problems with as well because the only instructions I could find was if you used /xinitrc.
It took me a good few hours to find how to do it with KDM in justlinux forums.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:10 pm

I seem to recall giving instructions for this at "the other site". I don't remember which Window manager it was but the instructions would be the same....

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Fri Mar 21, 2003 6:07 pm

Void Main wrote:I seem to recall giving instructions for this at "the other site". I don't remember which Window manager it was but the instructions would be the same....
"the other site" hehee. Apologies for content-less post..

Doogee
administrator
administrator
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

Post by Doogee » Fri Mar 21, 2003 6:50 pm

yeah void you gave me these instructions, not that i can remember them :D

Post Reply