[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4668: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4670: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4671: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4672: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
Void's Forums • View topic - JavaScript????

JavaScript????

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat

JavaScript????

Postby edwardsen35 » Sun Mar 02, 2003 7:19 am

I'm in college and my school has a couple of websites. One of their websites is: . When I go to the website all I see is a message that says: "You must have JavaScript Enabled To properly view this site."

I didn't have Java installed on my machine so I went to sun and downloaded/installed the latest version. I went back to and I still got that message that says: "You must have JavaScript Enabled To properly view this site." I thought that java wasn't installed correctly so I went back to the sun website. I checked to see if java was working and it was. There was a message on the screen that said: "Congratulations! You have the current version of Java software, and access to all the best the web has to offer."

Then, I thought that there might be an option that I have to turn on so that I enable JavaScript. I searched sun's website and all I found out is that when you create an applet you have to turn JavaScript on because it is turned off by default. I didn't find anything that said that the user had to turn it on. Anybody have any ideas or should I contact sun?

I am running Mozilla 1.0.1 and Java: j2re-1_4_1_01.

The reason that I want to go to this site is because from this site you can check your account balance. I reciently quit baseball and I'm worried that they might take my scholarship away.

Thank You,

-edwardsen35
edwardsen35
user
user
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:11 am

Postby Tux » Sun Mar 02, 2003 9:31 am

You need to make a symlink in the mozilla plugins directory to /usr/java/j2re1.4.1_01/plugin/i386/ns610/libjavaplugin_oji.so.

*Do not* copy the plugin, make sure to symlink it.
Tux
guru
guru
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Postby edwardsen35 » Sun Mar 02, 2003 9:57 am

I did that already.

I am able to run Java applets but when I go to that website () I get that error message "You must have JavaScript Enabled To properly view this site"
edwardsen35
user
user
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:11 am

Postby Void Main » Sun Mar 02, 2003 1:44 pm

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA

Postby edwardsen35 » Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:43 pm

I checked my browser to see if I had JavaScript enabled; I did. I'm not surprised that you think that the web site sucks. I think that the IT department at my school sucks.

This is my understanding of why the website wasn't working, correct me if I'm wrong...LeMoyne has the website set up so that you have to have a certain version of IE or Netscape. You then changed your user-agent string to pretend that you were a different browser and you were able to access the web site. What I don't understand is why I was able to access the website at and not at ?

On a side note...I was building a database for my baseball coach for his baseball camps. He was keeping track of the campers with an excel file. I told him that I would build a database so that it was much easier to keep track of the campers. I also was taking a VB class so I decided to create a program to sit on top of the database to provide a nice user interface. At my school we run Novel Netware which doesn't allow you to write to the hard drive. Since I'm not able to write to the hard drive, I wasn't able to compile my program. I wrote to the IT department and asked them to change my permissions so that I could compile the program. They told me to send them my program and they would see what they could do. Well I wrote to them numerous times and they kept on telling me that they would get back to me. It has been about a month and they still haven't changed my permissions. Therefore if I tell them that their website sucks and they need to change it, I doubt that they will.

I had no idea what you were talking about when you said that you changed your "user-agent string." I went on the web see what the heck it is. I discovered what it is and what it does but I don't know how to change it. How do you change it?

Thank You!

-edwardsen35
edwardsen35
user
user
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:11 am

Postby Tux » Sun Mar 02, 2003 3:19 pm

You want the mozilla prefbar, you can get this at www.xulplanet.com
Tux
guru
guru
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Postby Void Main » Sun Mar 02, 2003 8:01 pm

Yes, as Tux said get the prefbar for Mozilla. It will let you change your user agent. And yes you are correct about your interperetation. The error message that they display is not valid. On the main site URL they check to see if you have certain browser and if you do redirect you to another page. If you do not have that certain browser they tell you that you don't have JavaScript enabled which is not true. As you can see if you go directly to the page it would have redirected you to you have no problems viewing it. They should update/fix the main page to allow Mozilla or change the error message to something more accurate like "We are nazis and only allow IE, go away".
User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA

Postby Calum » Mon Mar 03, 2003 9:41 am

i had to go and view microsoft.com for a university assignment i am writing where i compare it to another site in terms of unbiasedness, ease of use et c and you know what? microsoft.com hangs a lot and takes ages to load pages if you have your prefbar set to netscape 6.2 on linux, but it works really fast if you set it to IE6 on windows XP. regardless of the fact that both are mozilla 1.3b.

sites should not be physically allowed to discriminate on the basis of browser choice in my opinion. it should just not be possible to code a site in such a way. whoever thought of it was a dickhead.
User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland

Postby edwardsen35 » Thu Mar 13, 2003 2:03 pm

edwardsen35
user
user
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 9:11 am

Postby Calum » Fri Mar 14, 2003 6:54 am

i have had countless problems installing the prefbar (and some mozilla skins) in mandrake. even as root. even following the instructions exactly, and copying prefbar.rdf to the right place et c. i seem to remember it working fine in red hat though, which really pisses me off. why won't it work in mandrake?
User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland

Postby bazoukas » Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:11 am

bazoukas
programmer
programmer
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC

Postby Doogee » Fri Mar 21, 2003 8:27 am

Doogee
administrator
administrator
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

Postby Void Main » Fri Mar 21, 2003 9:49 am

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA

Postby Calum » Fri Mar 21, 2003 10:10 am

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland


Return to Fedora/Red Hat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron