Wish me luck! Online update from FC4 to FC5

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Wish me luck! Online update from FC4 to FC5

Post by JoeDude » Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:07 pm

So far so good. Here's what I've done so far;

yum clean all

yum install kernel

yum remove kernel 2.6.11*

rpm -Uhv http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/f ... noarch.rpm

yum update

and when that finishes I plan to do this

/sbin/fixfiles relabel

to fix any of those crazy metadata thiungs that could break...any suggestions what else I should do?

BTW: I got the commands from here

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:27 pm

I upgraded a machine successfully using that method although it doesn't appear to work for FC5->FC6.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:38 am

That's encouraging! I had to go to bed last nitght. Of course it probably waited till I shut off the lights and left the room to ask whether getting the public key for perl-XML-RegExp-0.03-2.fc5.noarch.rpm was ok...so it's still going...

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Oct 29, 2006 7:23 pm

Void Main wrote:I upgraded a machine successfully using that method although it doesn't appear to work for FC5->FC6.
I take it back. I upgraded the voidmain web server from FC5->FC6 today like this:

Code: Select all

# yum clean all
# rpm -Uhv http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/6/i386/os/Fedora/RPMS/fedora-release-6-4.noarch.rpm http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/6/i386/os/Fedora/RPMS/fedora-release-notes-6-3.noarch.rpm
# yum -y update
You may have to resolve a few dependencies before being successful depending on what you have installed.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:26 am

I had to abandon the attempt. In the end, I just put Ubuntu on it. Everything was going fine and well, then...my son, the 2 year old cyber terror, decided to play with the keyboard, mouse and power support....needless to say, it was much easier and quicker just to do a text install of Ubuntu. I'll probably try again this week end....when I can watch it and him full time.

Edit:

Ok, got bored, trying again.

Now what did I do! I was in a rush, did the usual...
yum clean all

yum install kerel

yes, kerel...it's running like a mad man! Is it smart enouh to figure out what I meant or am I getting a software package called kerel that over 100 packages? Holy CeNsOrEd Bat man!

Code: Select all

[root@localhost ~]# yum clean all
Cleaning up Everything
0 headers removed
0 packages removed
0 metadata files removed
0 cache files removed
0 cache files removed
[root@localhost ~]# yum install kerel
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
updates-released          100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
extras                    100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
base                      100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/core/updates/4/i386/repodata/ primary.xml.gz: [Errno 4] IOError: HTTP Error 403: Date: Mon, 30 Oct 2006 09:55: 35 GMT
Server: Apache/2.0.46 (Red Hat)
Content-Length: 363
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
Trying other mirror.
primary.xml.gz            100% |=========================| 299 kB    00:05
updates-re: ################################################## 782/782
Added 782 new packages, deleted 0 old in 40.64 seconds
primary.xml.gz            100% |=========================| 1.2 MB    00:24
extras    : ################################################## 3965/3965
Added 3965 new packages, deleted 0 old in 150.04 seconds
primary.xml.gz            100% |=========================| 824 kB    00:12
base      : ################################################## 2772/2772
Added 2772 new packages, deleted 0 old in 91.67 seconds
Parsing package install arguments
No Match for argument: kerel
Nothing to do

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Oct 30, 2006 6:39 am

JoeDude wrote:yes, kerel...it's running like a mad man! Is it smart enouh to figure out what I meant or am I getting a software package called kerel that over 100 packages? Holy CeNsOrEd Bat man!

Code: Select all

No Match for argument: kerel
Nothing to do
Nope, that's just yum doing it's usual updating of package list for the 4,000th time when it doesn't need to before telling you it couldn't find what you told it to install.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Mon Oct 30, 2006 9:33 am

Great. Well, I'm back to the updating, installing, obsoleting portion. I think this is about where Callum decided to have a go at typing, clicking and switch flicking. Have that portion under control now though. Had the wife take him with her to pick up the daughter from nursery school. So I have a couple more hours of it without the tiny terror around to work his mischief.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:04 pm

Update:

Well, it finished. Now I don't have the title bar on any of the windows that come up.danget!

anyone have any ideas why. When I tried to relabel, it gave me a whole slew of line errors which forced me to reboot. I tried again as root and it doesn't seem to be working...

/sbin/fixfiles relabel

danget...

There were also a load of SELinux errors, I lost them as well.

All right, I'm pretty sure I have an X server malfunction at least. I rebooted and got the output....
X Window System 7.0.0
Release Date: 21 December 2005
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Releasse 7.0
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.9-34.ELsmp i686Red Hat, Inc.
Current Operating System: Linux localhost.localdomain
2.6.18-1.2200.fc5 #1 Sat Oct 14 16:59:26 EDT 2006 i686
Build Date: 30 June 2006
Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Mon Oct 30 20:11:02 2006
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
It then asked me if I would like to see the detailed Xserver log, I said yes, it said the same output. Then it asked if I would like to attempt to configure Xserver, I said yes, now it's saying trying to restart Xserver, I will say ok...
Last edited by JoeDude on Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:15 pm

Hmm, the first thing I ever do on a fresh install is disable SELinux because it's nothing more than a CPU drain. I never did any relable command (I can't imagine it being necessary since I don't use SELinux). You can turn it off by setting the SELINUX variable in /etc/sysconfig/selinux to "Disabled". Regarding your window borders not showing up, is this with compiz desktop-effects enabled or disabled? I had this problem when trying to get compiz to work on my nVidia machine until I got the xorg.conf settings right.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:27 pm

If I could get past this Xserver thing, it just keeps trying and trying and won't leave it...

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:30 pm

wow, it fixed itself, it booted! I'll try n figure that out now. Avahi daemon failed. Stuck in the boot screen, at the window manager, it did this last time...that's when it got complicated....


All right, SELINUX=disabled.

Now about that compiz thing...how's that work?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:51 pm

If you are lucky you just turn it on. On the Fedora menu click System->Preferences->DesktopEffects. Try to enable it. If it doesn't work then run the command "desktop-effects" from a shell and see if there are any error messages. You definitely need a 3D GL capable card to have any chance.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:34 pm

this may seem odd,,but disabling SELinux seems to have fixed everything.

As far as Compiz, I will try, but that computer has no cahnce, it's an old HP Pavilion 6465 with a few minor modifications. I'll let you know what happened.


Compiz is not there., terminal says command not found.
Last edited by JoeDude on Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:36 pm

JoeDude wrote:this may seem odd,,but disabling SELinux seems to have fixed everything.
That's another reason I disable it as the first step in any new installation. :)

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Tue Nov 07, 2006 10:17 am

Well, my experience with FC5 has been less than grand. I didn't mind the installation hastles, but useability (probably because of the system it's on) is worthless. I installed it, turned of SELinux, and it's still very slow and sluggish. When I try to set up Samba, it took me forever and was not layed out in an easily to follow manner, but I did get it. If I try add/remove programs function, as well as that updater, they just go into limbo, ie...they start and the gui comes up. then disappears. It is still running in the background as system monitor shows me, but I can't use any admin finction after that, because they are tyoing it up. Or, even worse, when everything seems to go right, but it stalls on updating dependencies or downloading packages...annoying. I think I'll try Debian on this next.

Post Reply