mplayer still in the freshrpm repositories?

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

mplayer still in the freshrpm repositories?

Post by Ice9 » Mon Mar 10, 2003 4:53 pm

If I do a dist upgrade synaptic wants to remove mplayer and install a bunch of other libraries from xine and ogle.
What bothers me is that I don't see mplayer listed as available anymore, so if I proceed and let synaptic uninstall it I might not be able to install, it again and I really don't feel like compiling it from source!!!!
Not with all the problems I keep reading about.

Could anyone please take a look see if they see mplayer as still listed?
Many many thanks.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Mar 10, 2003 5:40 pm

Huh? I just did an

# apt-get update
# apt-get dist-upgrade

with no problem and it didn't remove mplayer. Then I ran Synaptic and and I see mplayer and mplayer-skins in the list.

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Tue Mar 11, 2003 1:04 am

It's because of an update of libdvdnav, from the moment it is selected, mplayer gets on the list of packages to be removed, and when I choose to keep mplayer synaptic refuses to do anything else because of broken dependencies .... ??????

I see the skins listed though, but there is no version number for mplayer itself anymore.

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Tue Mar 11, 2003 6:40 am

sounds similar to the issues i had with texstar's mandrake repositories.

Doogee
administrator
administrator
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

Post by Doogee » Tue Mar 11, 2003 6:43 am

damn they were bad.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Mar 11, 2003 8:05 am

I've got "libdvdnav-0.1.4-fr0.2note2", "mplayer-0.90-fr0.5rc4", and "mplayer-skins-1.2-fr1" installed, all from apt with no problems. I would say go ahead and do the upgrade and if it removes mplayer go back in to synaptic and try and install it again. Are you pointing to any other repositories other than freshrpms?

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Tue Mar 11, 2003 9:37 am

I removed all the other repositories except the one for Macromedia flash player.
I'll try to do what you said tonight.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Mar 11, 2003 10:05 am

Macromedia flash player? What repository is that. That would probably be your problem. MPlayer is on the FreshRPMS repository. If anything I would say use only FreshRPMS and if you need flash installed install it separately. I just downloaded the RPM from Macromedia and installed it without any problem.

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Tue Mar 11, 2003 11:44 am

it's best to install the flash plugin by hand i'd say, it's easy to do plus whenever i use the rpm it just slaps it in /usr/lib/netscape/plugins and /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

that's a pretty bad success ratio considering i want it to go into /usr/lib/mozilla-1.1/plugins , /usr/lib/galeon/components and /opt/phoenix/plugins - i don't even have netscape installed! (and never have done!)

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Tue Mar 11, 2003 5:17 pm

The repository for Flash player is
rpm http://ruslug.rutgers.edu/macromedia/apt/ redhat/8.0 macromedia
and I included that one a long time ago, never had an issue with it.

From what I can see there's nothing else in there, could that really be the source of all this?
Should I remove it from my sources.list then and all will be fine?

Edit : I removed the repository for Macromedia and tried to do a Dist Upgrade, Synaptic crashes on an "Unknown error" :(
Next I did #apt-get remove mplayer, because it seemed like mplayer was the source of mischief, it stayed forever on "executing rpm -e and then nothing, now synaptic doesn't even run anymore :?

2nd edit: synaptic crashes every time now, I can't upgrade or remove anything anymore, yesterday I upgraded apt but there was no upgrade for synaptic yet.
And if i try to do anything with apt-get from a terminal it just sits there forever :(

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Mar 11, 2003 6:13 pm

First off, do you have the FreshRPMS repository in your sources.list?

Code: Select all

rpm http://apt.freshrpms.net/ redhat/8.0/en/i386 updates freshrpms
rpm-src http://apt.freshrpms.net/ redhat/8.0/en/i386 os updates freshrpms
If you have the above in your sources.list do you have any hung up "rpm" processes?

# killall -9 rpm
# rm /var/lib/rpm/*db.00?
# apt-get update
# apt-get upgrade
# synaptic

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Tue Mar 11, 2003 6:19 pm

I have the correct repositories in my sources.list.
Did
# killall -9 rpm
# rm /var/lib/rpm/__*
and I deleted 3 files.

I do # apt-get update and get this:

Code: Select all

[root@D5E03210 yc]# apt-get update
E: Could not get lock /var/state/apt/lists/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to lock the list directory
Edit: I just rebooted and now I'm able to do an apt-get update but synaptic still crashes on me every time :(

If it helps I get a lot of warnings when I launch synaptic

Code: Select all

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: could not find glade file 'synaptic.glade'

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: Unknown CList child property: visible

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: Unknown CList child property: visible

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: Unknown CList child property: visible

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: Unknown CList child property: visible

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: Unknown CList child property: visible

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: Unknown CList child property: visible

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: Unknown CList child property: visible

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: Unknown CList child property: visible

(synaptic:1263): libglade-WARNING **: Unknown CList child property: visible

(synaptic:1263): Gtk-WARNING **: gtk_menu_attach_to_widget(): menu already attached to GtkOptionMenu
adding pattern:
adding pattern: ^task-.*

(synaptic:1263): Gtk-WARNING **: gtk_menu_detach(): menu is not attached

(synaptic:1263): Gtk-WARNING **: gtk_menu_detach(): menu is not attached

(synaptic:1263): Gtk-WARNING **: gtk_menu_attach_to_widget(): menu already attached to GtkOptionMenu
I always had this but I don't know if I always had the first one?

Code: Select all

could not find glade file 'synaptic.glade'

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Tue Mar 11, 2003 7:04 pm

pfffff and it keeps getting worse, when I tried to play a video file in Konqueror I got

Code: Select all

KDEInit could not launch 'gmplayer':
Could not find 'gmplayer' executable.
So I thought that I had succeded after all in uninstalling mplayer and I do an # apt-get install mplayer ....
I got this

Code: Select all

[root@D5E03210 yc]# apt-get install mplayer
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
mplayer is already the newest version.
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 removed and 9 not upgraded.
It's as if the synaptic database isn't synched with the rpm database from my system anymore.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Mar 11, 2003 8:34 pm

You could always try downloading the latest apt RPM from FreshRPMS and then removing apt:

# rpm -e synaptic
# rpm -e apt

and then make sure stuff is cleaned up:

# rm -rf /var/state/apt
# rm -rf /var/cache/apt
# rm -rf /etc/apt

Then install the apt RPM that you downloaded and:

# apt-get update
# apt-get install synaptic

If that doesn't do it, something is really broken...

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:07 am

Well I think something is really broken because when I do # rpm -e synaptic
it just sits there and does nothing anymore
I tried to launch synaptic from another terminal and I get "command not found".
Seems like I can't do anything involving rpm's anymore.
Any idea about what I could do to fix this?
And btw, thanks again for all the help Void.

And I tried to # rpm -e apt
This is the result

Code: Select all

[root@D5E03210 New]# rpm -e apt
error: Failed dependencies:
        libapt-pkg-libc6.3-5.so.3.3 is needed by (installed) synaptic-0.31-fr2
        apt >= 0.5.4 is needed by (installed) synaptic-0.31-fr2
        apt = 0.5.5cnc4.1-fr1 is needed by (installed) apt-devel-0.5.5cnc4.1-fr1

Post Reply