APT-GET FOR rEDhAT 8.0?

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
jrich4
user
user
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: Tennessee

APT-GET FOR rEDhAT 8.0?

Post by jrich4 » Mon Mar 17, 2003 12:10 am

I recently formatted my computer so that it only has RedHat on it now(before, it was dual boot with win98). I had used viod's instructions before for the apt-get setup and install along with synaptic. I really liked this utility and can't seem to get it set up again. The freshrpms site doesn't seem to have it for download anymore. It has it in the downloads area, but when I try to download it, it says it cannot be found. Any help getting this set back up and working would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
jrich4

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:05 am

Strange, I just tried and the file is there ...
http://psyche.freshrpms.net/rpm.html?id=876

Doogee
administrator
administrator
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

Post by Doogee » Mon Mar 17, 2003 2:47 am

i had the same problem on my brothers red hat 8 box, the apt file has been moved. type the adress into the adress bar, but leave out the filename, it will give you a listing.

Im sure you can work it out from there.

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Mon Mar 17, 2003 2:48 am

yes i tried that yesterday too. i eventually just went to http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/freshrpms/ ... /synaptic/ to get the right rpm. the problem is that for some reason, void's tutorial (last night anyway) had synaptic-0.32-fr2.i386.rpm instead of synaptic-0.32-fr1.i386.rpm as the filename.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Mar 17, 2003 7:49 am

Sorry about that. Every time he updates the apt package I have to change my apt-get page. I usually catch it within the day but lately he has been changing the version number and the filename often. Normally this wouldn't be a problem because most people leave the old version up. Not in this case, however. He removes the old versions when he creates a new one.

I removed the instructions for downloading synaptic because they are not needed. After installing apt you just "apt-get install synaptic" as my instructions say and it will install synaptic. I removed the instructions for using RPM to install it because of the same filename issues. I should add a note to the instructions to say just look in the directory for the current "apt" package if my link doesn't work.

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Mon Mar 17, 2003 9:31 am

yes, i noticed you had done it that way ('apt-get synaptic') and i liked it! nice one. it makes your instructions look even easier to someone who might be new to it all.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Mar 17, 2003 11:50 am

I find it interesting that the links to the apt downloads on http://freshrpms.net/ itself are broken. If you go to the above link and click the "Apt" link, then click the http://apt.freshrpms.net/ link in the Download section it will bring up the main apt page, all of the download links are broken (at least at the time of this writing). The real path for apt (again, at the time of this writing) is:

http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/freshrpms/psyche/apt/

jrich4
user
user
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: Tennessee

Post by jrich4 » Tue Mar 18, 2003 12:12 pm

Thanks for your quick responses and help. I got it back up and working like a charm.

Thanks,
jrich4

bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by bazoukas » Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:10 pm

synaptic has gone crazy for me.....it says that i have broken packages and when I want to download something it tells me that it wants to uninstall the packages,,,,,,if i do that, it will delete 2+ gigs ,,,basically it will delete RedHat :shock:
Oh well, source build for me and little RPM hunting.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:13 pm

bazoukas wrote:synaptic has gone crazy for me.....it says that i have broken packages and when I want to download something it tells me that it wants to uninstall the packages,,,,,,if i do that, it will delete 2+ gigs ,,,basically it will delete RedHat


Hmm, what command is doing this? dist-upgrade? upgrade? or a single package install? What does your /etc/apt/sources.list look like? What has changed since it worked properly last and now?

bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by bazoukas » Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:16 pm

Void Main wrote:
bazoukas wrote:synaptic has gone crazy for me.....it says that i have broken packages and when I want to download something it tells me that it wants to uninstall the packages,,,,,,if i do that, it will delete 2+ gigs ,,,basically it will delete RedHat


Hmm, what command is doing this? dist-upgrade? upgrade? or a single package install?


single package upgrade. At one point it was working just fine, but I was doing some crap with the kernel and I messed up RH. I reinstalled RH and synaptic and also did the upgrade and it gave me a biiiiiiiig list with broken packages.
I reinstalled RH just in case synaptic was right with the packages, but still the same problem again. And RH runs just fine no problems whatsoever :shock:

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:20 pm

When you reinstalled did you reinstall over an old install without formatting? If so did you clean out your /var/cache/apt and /var/state/apt directories and do an "apt-get update"? Did you do an "rpm --rebuilddb"?

bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by bazoukas » Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:42 pm

Void Main wrote:When you reinstalled did you reinstall over an old install without formatting? If so did you clean out your /var/cache/apt and /var/state/apt directories and do an "apt-get update"? Did you do an "rpm --rebuilddb"?


fresh install from scratch. Formated the disk and all. I always do it that way to avoid problems.....but still :(.

Maybe my cds are no good :(

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:49 pm

bazoukas wrote:
Void Main wrote: Maybe my cds are no good


Nahh, that should have nothing to do with it. I use apt on around 10 Red Hat 8.0 machines and I haven't run into that problem. Was it a specific RPM that you were trying to install or does any RPM cause the problem? Again, what does your /etc/apt/sources.list look like, did you add any extra repositories other than FreshRPMS?

bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by bazoukas » Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:57 pm

Void Main wrote:
bazoukas wrote:
Void Main wrote: Maybe my cds are no good


Nahh, that should have nothing to do with it. I use apt on around 10 Red Hat 8.0 machines and I haven't run into that problem. Was it a specific RPM that you were trying to install or does any RPM cause the problem? Again, what does your /etc/apt/sources.list look like, did you add any extra repositories other than FreshRPMS?



:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
You wont believe this man.......I didnt do anything to it...................and out o the blue it stoped giving me the error list in the GUI :shock:
FOr what is worth though this is my /etc/apt/sources.list
# Red Hat Linux 8.0
rpm http://apt.freshrpms.net redhat/8.0/en/i386 os updates freshrpms
rpm-src http://apt.freshrpms.net redhat/8.0/en/i386 os updates freshrpms



Sources list
# Red Hat Linux 8.0
rpm http://apt.freshrpms.net redhat/8.0/en/i386 os updates freshrpms
rpm-src http://apt.freshrpms.net redhat/8.0/en/i386 os updates freshrpms


Vendors list
simple-key "fr" {
Fingerprint "E55DC93EBF128CDA2D362482692AC459E42D547B";
Name "Matthias Saou (Thias) <matthias.saou@est.une.marmotte.net>";
}


BTW i never altered the repository. This thing has a mind of its own in my machine.
:shock:

Post Reply