samba changes and k3b

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
Post Reply
caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

samba changes and k3b

Post by caveman » Sat Oct 06, 2007 3:16 am

Hi guys.

I am now at a loss :oops:

I cannot figure out where and how samba on fedora 7 works
My F7 machine can connect to the network using "cifs"
with "-o user=" and "-o uid=" - BUT for some reason
the rest of the systems (m$ included) cannot access my shares!
It is as if the /ets/samba/smb.conf is not used or
maybe the location changed? The smbpasswd etc. are all setup
and I used the smb.conf file from my FC4 install as a template
the F7 is a vanilla installation - any comments :)

WORST - been keeping the F7 up-to-date
and now using "K3b" - ON startup it abends to the point
where the machine actually reboots! NUTS :twisted:
when starting K3b - the machine freeze and then reboots :roll:
Any idea where to start looking (worked fine with FC4) :roll:

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Sun Oct 14, 2007 8:33 am

Alas! :oops: :oops:
This is something that happened before
:- the firewall was not opened to allow samba connections through -:

Still having problems with k3b though
have even installed an older version - but no luck so far.
Still fooling around as and when I have time to try to fix this.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5712
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:34 pm

I gotta figure the k3b issue must be hardware related because I use it all the time and it seems to work flawlessly here. Hmmmm...

Post Reply