permissions for sound and video

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
Post Reply
caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

permissions for sound and video

Post by caveman » Thu Oct 16, 2003 4:32 pm

Hi.

My problem :oops: - signing on as a non-root user after
a reboot the /dev/dsp and /dev/video* permissions have
reverted to 600.
Which means using su to change them.

Where and how do I make the permission changes permanent,
except through a startup script? or is there something I miss?

I do sometimes sign is as root to install/test something, this seems
to reset the permissions as well.

Why do I reboot? - highveld thunderstorms ie. heavy lightning :shock:
even the UPS goes into a state of shock :twisted:

Tx in advance.

To mess up Linux, you need to work at it.
To mess up Windows, you just need to work on it.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Oct 16, 2003 5:58 pm

You should be able to modify /etc/security/console.perms file and set the logon permissions for those devices as you need them. If the devices don't exist in that file just add them.

This page is about more than what you want but it has an example you need:
http://www.redhat.com/support/wpapers/r ... ering.html

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Sat Oct 18, 2003 5:23 pm

tx.

That gave me the right place to look.

Had to however add "pts/[0-9][0-9]*" to the "<console>"
class to make it work correctly.

Having a problem with vnc - but'll try and see if the above fixed that as well.

Regards

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sat Oct 18, 2003 5:47 pm

Huh? You shouldn't have to change anything in there for VNC. Are you trying to run the VNC server or client on your machine?

Post Reply