new nVidia Club3D 6600

Place to discuss Debian Linux and Debian based distributions
Post Reply
Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

new nVidia Club3D 6600

Post by Ice9 » Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:02 am

Just a few minutes ago I plugged a brand new nVidia 6600 card in my box and while I had no problems booting with the nvidia drivers I have some questions about the 3D performance.

If I run glxgears froma console it doesn't output any framerate??
I seem to remember being able to read the framerate in the console window from which I started the app??

Is there any other program I can test my framerate with?
Because when I see glxgears running it seems soooooo slow compared to what I used to have with my MX4000!!!

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Apr 20, 2006 8:11 am

That's weird. I have a 6600GT card in my desktop at home and glxgears does show the framerate and it screams. Very odd. Are you sure you are using the nVidia GL libraries?

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:12 am

Yes I am, the nvidia splash screen shows up and I'm able to run quake3 and ut2003 so obviously OpenGL is ok.

I waited for a couple of minutes with glxgears running and there was no framerate to be seen in the console window.
Is there anothe app out there I can use to check the framerates?

Also I my xorg.conf still mentions my MX4000 card even though I ran nvidia-config and had it regenerate a new xorg.conf file.
:?:

Membrax
scripter
scripter
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:04 pm
Location: 50'48''N - 4'21''E
Contact:

Post by Membrax » Tue May 23, 2006 12:55 pm

Same story on my side. By curiousity I've launched glxgears from the console (I even didn't remember that this small app did exist), and ... no indication of the framerate. Should we call an exorcist ?

Membrax
scripter
scripter
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:04 pm
Location: 50'48''N - 4'21''E
Contact:

Post by Membrax » Tue May 23, 2006 2:27 pm

In addition to this I've just given a try to amoeba. This small app is supposed to launch a bunch of eye-catching OpenGL demos. Obviously, to get the expected visual result you will have to ensure that your 3D hardware acceleration is activated. Well, I might sound advising but actually I'm merely looking for a hand on this one. As a matter of fact the only -disappointing- message I can get when launching amoeba is the folling one : " Unhandled exception: No direct rendering (hardware acceleration) available! (Check libGL.so.* symlinks) ". And I still didn't find any exorcist's phone number, but I'm holding on, it has to be somewhere. :cry:

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue May 23, 2006 2:41 pm

Hmmm, works for me. Here's relevant versions:

Code: Select all

$ rpm -qil glx-utils


Name        : glx-utils                    Relocations: (not relocatable)
Version     : 6.4.2                             Vendor: Red Hat, Inc.
Release     : 6                             Build Date: Wed 01 Mar 2006 07:11:18 AM CST
Install Date: Sun 02 Apr 2006 10:31:19 PM CDT      Build Host: hs20-bc1-3.build.redhat.com
Group       : Development/Libraries         Source RPM: mesa-6.4.2-6.src.rpm
Size        : 28596                            License: MIT/X11
Signature   : DSA/SHA1, Mon 06 Mar 2006 01:55:13 PM CST, Key ID b44269d04f2a6fd2Packager    : Red Hat, Inc. <http://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla>
URL         : http://www.mesa3d.org
Summary     : GLX utilities
Description :
The glx-utils package provides the glxinfo and glxgears utilities.
/usr/bin/glxgears
/usr/bin/glxinfo
I just realized that I currently have the livna nvidia drivers installed though:

Code: Select all

$ rpm -qa | grep -i nvidia
kmod-nvidia-1.0.8178-6.2.6.16_1.2080_FC5
mplayer-vidix-nVidia-1.0pre8-0.4.20051128
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-1.0.8178-0.lvn.5

Membrax
scripter
scripter
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:04 pm
Location: 50'48''N - 4'21''E
Contact:

Post by Membrax » Tue May 23, 2006 3:02 pm

Hmmm, seems fine indeed. But my box is running Debian Sarge and there doesn't seem to be any glx-utils deb file available anywhere. I'm also still under xorg 6.9.0.dfsg.1-6 (yes I'm afraid to move those dfsg packages to the bunch of independant xorg files). Called an exorcist already, had to leave my message on his voicemail. :lol:

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Tue May 23, 2006 3:27 pm

Verrry cool that amoeba thingie, runs perfectly smooth on my box so I guess everything is fine!
Also Quake4 runs (albeit not very smoothly)!

Membrax
scripter
scripter
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:04 pm
Location: 50'48''N - 4'21''E
Contact:

Post by Membrax » Tue May 23, 2006 4:18 pm

:roll:
garghl, just processed the whole thing.
Updated my box with latest kernel, decided finally to go for the big move from "dfsg" packages to the stack of independent xorg files, recompiled the latest nvidia drivers, displaced manually the modules to where they had to go. Glxgears does not launch anymore. Amoeba still not willing, but the error message is even more weird than the previous one : " Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0"."
Yes the message appears twice.

Should " Load glx " stay unmarked in the xorg.conf ???

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue May 23, 2006 6:14 pm

I have Load "glx" in my xorg.conf. I also just realized this is the Debian forum, duh! :) So what I have may not mean anything here since my setup is on FC. Sorry about that...

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Wed May 24, 2006 12:51 am

Membrax wrote
displaced manually the modules to where they had to go
Huh?
You don't have to move your modules around, just pass the "path to the modules" parameter at the install stage.
But then again I think I didn't need to do this anymore when I last updated my kernel and instlled the latest nvidia drivers

What version of kernel are you running?
Mine is 2.6.16-1-686
And if the nvidia kernel module cannot be built, pass the following parameter when you install the driver:

Code: Select all

sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-8756-pkg1.run --x-module-path=/usr/lib/xorg/modules
Edit: and I also have Load "glx" in my xorg.conf

Post Reply