Java in mozilla firebird

Discuss Applications
Post Reply
Buzza24
scripter
scripter
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:01 am
Contact:

Java in mozilla firebird

Post by Buzza24 » Thu May 27, 2004 3:40 am

Hey peoples,

I am trying to get Java running in mozilla firebird so I can use the Yahoo chat rooms but plugins just don't install.

Please help

God bless,
Daniel

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu May 27, 2004 10:34 am

Did you install Java? Java (J2RE) comes with the proper plugin (libjavaplugin_oji.so) that goes in one of your mozilla plugins directory (/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins, ~/.mozilla/plugins, etc). I usually get Java from http://java.sun.com/ but I think IBM also distributes a Java package. Also, do you really mean Firebird or do you mean Firefox? Firefox is the new name.

Buzza24
scripter
scripter
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:01 am
Contact:

Post by Buzza24 » Thu May 27, 2004 4:10 pm

yeah i do mean firefox.
Sorry my bad.

I tried putting it in the ~/.mozilla/plugins but now when it tries to load the page, firefox shuts down.

I getting the feeling that I am problem prone.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu May 27, 2004 4:46 pm

But did you actually install Java (not just the plugin)? Can you type "java" at a shell prompt and get something other than "command not found"? When I install Sun's Java it always goes in some deep directory structure and it never puts the executables in the exising normal directory path (/usr/bin, /bin, /usr/local/bin) so I usually create symbolic links to all the java executables in the /usr/bin directory. Here is where I walked someone else through it:

http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/forums/vi ... light=java

Another possibility is that you have the *wrong* plugin. Java ships with two different ones. If you put the wrong one in your plugins directory the browser will crash similar to what you describe (actually I don't believe the browser will start at all if you have the wrong one of the two plugins installed). I believe most of this is in the README on Sun's Java site.

Buzza24
scripter
scripter
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:01 am
Contact:

Post by Buzza24 » Fri May 28, 2004 2:17 am

I have tried putting both (one at a time) plugins, ns610 and n610-gcc32.

ns610 = firefox doesn't start but in terminal doesn't flash w/red background
ns610--gcc32 = firefox starts but plugin doesn't work and in terminal does flash with red background.

I tried putting it in ~/.mozilla/plugins and in /usr/local/apps/firefox/plugins (app directory)
and a same results.

Java before all that I made a link to the Java bin in /bin and /usr/bin so yes Java is now a working command in the terminal.

Any other ideas?

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Fri May 28, 2004 4:33 am

You need to symlink the gcc32 version.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri May 28, 2004 7:16 am

A flashing red background on a file name means that it is a broken symbolic link or the file that the symbolic link points to is in a place your user can't access. It sounds like it's the gcc32 one that you need. Find out where it "really" resides and jut copy it into your plugins directory. Mine is found in this directory:

/opt/j2sdk_nb/j2sdk1.4.2/jre/plugin/i386/ns610-gcc32

Your directory name should be similar but probably different because I am using the "sdk" version and you are probably just using the run time environment. Also make sure you delete the other one from your plugins directory. You only want the proper one or you will likely have problems.

Linux Frank
administrator
administrator
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 2:06 pm

Post by Linux Frank » Fri May 28, 2004 10:06 am

Mine resides under /usr/java - I used the self extracting RPM.

My Symlink is in /usr/lib/mozilla-1.6/plugins (I know you have a diff. browser). I'm using FC2 - You?. Putting it in ~/.mozilla will only allow the user who is installing to use it. You want to stick it in the /usr/lib/ area for the plugin to be system wide.

ZiaTioN
administrator
administrator
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 3:28 pm
Contact:

Post by ZiaTioN » Thu Jun 03, 2004 11:21 pm

Look in /usr/lib, more than l;ikely you have multiple moziall directories and simply sticking it in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins will not do it for you unless you actually use that browser. You might have another browser such as mozilla-1.2 or mozilla-1.4, symlink the plugin in the plugins directory in the most current browser directory (this is the best bet for the one the system is actually using).

You actually are suppose to symbolically link to the plugin from your plugins dir too, I am not sure what level of instability if any at all will be a result of actually copying the plugin over.
[root@Hackbox root]# cd /usr/lib
[root@Hackbox root]# ls -l mozilla*
mozilla:
total 4
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Apr 22 12:27 plugins

mozilla-1.2.1:
total 24
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 Mar 19 04:07 chrome
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 8192 Mar 19 04:07 components
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Mar 19 04:07 defaults
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Apr 22 12:27 plugins
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 Mar 19 04:07 res

mozilla-1.4.2:
total 2984
drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 4096 Mar 19 04:07 chrome
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 8192 Apr 22 12:27 components
drwxr-xr-x 7 root root 4096 Mar 19 04:06 defaults
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 19 04:06 icons
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 150572 Mar 8 12:32 libgkgfx.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 113496 Mar 8 12:32 libgtkembedmoz.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 16744 Mar 8 12:32 libgtksuperwin.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 12252 Mar 8 12:32 libgtkxtbin.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 102924 Mar 8 12:32 libjsj.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 152276 Mar 8 12:32 libldap50.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 462452 Mar 8 12:32 libmozjs.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 347992 Mar 8 12:32 libmsgbaseutil.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 169896 Mar 8 12:32 libnssckbi.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 14496 Mar 8 12:32 libprldap50.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 112380 Mar 8 12:32 libxpcom_compat.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 919636 Mar 8 12:32 libxpcom.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 14816 Mar 8 12:32 libxpistub.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 230348 Mar 8 12:32 mozilla-bin
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2447 Mar 8 12:31 mozilla-rebuild-databases.pl
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 8360 Mar 8 12:32 mozilla-xremote-client
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Apr 22 12:31 plugins
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4452 Mar 8 12:32 regchrome
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 65320 Mar 8 12:32 regxpcom
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 4096 Mar 19 04:06 res
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 10998 Apr 18 2003 run-mozilla.sh
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Mar 19 04:06 searchplugins
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 26232 Mar 8 12:32 xpicleanup
See here I have 3 seperate mozilla directories and the latest being 1.4.2 is the current active browser on my system. This is the correct parent directory of your plugins directory.
[root@Hackbox root]# cd plugins/
[root@Hackbox root]# ls -l
total 24
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 37 Apr 22 12:27 flashplayer.xpt -> /usr/lib/flash-plugin/flashplayer.xpt
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 39 Apr 22 12:27 libflashplayer.so -> /usr/lib/flash-plugin/libflashplayer.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 72 Apr 22 12:31 libjavaplugin_oji.so -> /usr/java/j2sdk1.4.2_04/jre/plugin/i386/ns610-gcc32/libjavaplugin_oji.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 18808 Mar 8 12:32 libnullplugin.so
See how all the plugins are linked to their respective locations?

To create the link simply make sure you are in the right mozilla directory and cd to plugins directory and issue the following command:
ln -s /usr/java/j2sdk1.4.2_04/jre/plugin/i386/ns610-gcc32/libjavaplugin_oji.so

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:29 am

ZiaTioN wrote:Look in /usr/lib, more than l;ikely you have multiple moziall directories and simply sticking it in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins will not do it for you unless you actually use that browser. You might have another browser such as mozilla-1.2 or mozilla-1.4, symlink the plugin in the plugins directory in the most current browser directory (this is the best bet for the one the system is actually using).
Sorry but that is not true. You can leave all the mozilla-1.x/plugin directories empty and just use the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins directory. That's the way I've been doing it for quite some time now. You should be able to run moz 1.2 and moz 1.4 and they will use the same plugin directory. Now you would have to do it the way you say if for some reason the plugin binary is not compatible with all of the browsers you are using but that should not be the case here. All mozilla and firefox versions also look for plugins that reside in the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins directory and the same java plugin binary should work in all of them.

Post Reply