live radio web feed

Discuss Applications
Post Reply
User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

live radio web feed

Post by cdhgold » Wed Dec 27, 2006 7:26 pm

i want to listen to my local radio station thru its live web feed on FC6 but it will not play I have mplayer with all the plugins installed the site is www.kzep.com .. anyone have any suggestions?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:31 pm

I assume you don't have something set up right. I just clicked on your link and clicked on the "Listen Live" link and I am listening to the station right now ("Joy to the World" is playing).

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Mon Jan 01, 2007 10:05 pm

where to start checking? i have xmms , mplayer and the mplayer plugins all installed .. can you point me to where to start t/sing?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Jan 01, 2007 10:33 pm

Here are the versions of mplayer and mplayerplug-in I am using:

$ rpm -q mplayer mplayerplug-in

Code: Select all

mplayer-1.0-57_rc1.fc6.at
mplayerplug-in-3.31-30.fc6.at
I just copied the mplayer command my browser uses to listen to your station. Download this to your drive and then run it from a shell like this:

Code: Select all

sh ./kzep-live.sh
which should give you output similar to this if it plays:

Code: Select all

$ sh kzep-live.sh 
MPlayer 1.0rc1-4.1.1 (C) 2000-2006 MPlayer Team
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1400MHz (Family: 6, Model: 9, Stepping: 5)
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled with runtime CPU detection.

Playing mms://uni2.sa.streamaudio.com/KZEP_FM?SAT=2a5e69397b08e62ed91f9283d09434cf&ts=1167711804797&s=1188&y=2007&m=1&d=1&hh=20&mm=23&ss=24.
STREAM_ASF, URL: mms://uni2.sa.streamaudio.com/KZEP_FM?SAT=2a5e69397b08e62ed91f9283d09434cf&ts=1167711804797&s=1188&y=2007&m=1&d=1&hh=20&mm=23&ss=24
Resolving uni2.sa.streamaudio.com for AF_INET6...
Couldn't resolve name for AF_INET6: uni2.sa.streamaudio.com
Resolving uni2.sa.streamaudio.com for AF_INET...
Connecting to server uni2.sa.streamaudio.com[209.147.118.132]: 1755...
Connected
unknown object
unknown object
unknown object
file object, packet length = 1516 (1516)
unknown object
stream object, stream ID: 1
stream object, stream ID: 2
data object
mmst packet_length = 1516
Cache size set to 512 KBytes
Cache fill:  7.81% (40960 bytes)   
ASF file format detected.
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 32.0 kbit/2.27% (ratio: 3998->176400)
Selected audio codec: [ffwmav2] afm: ffmpeg (DivX audio v2 (FFmpeg))
==========================================================================
AO: [alsa] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Video: no video
Starting playback...
A:169220.5 (47:00:20.5) of 0.0 (unknown)  2.7% 17%
Let me know what your error is. Here is the script:
http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/files/scr ... ep-live.sh

I suspect you don't have your codecs properly installed.

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:55 am

running the script from command line worked .. this is what i get when i try to play it thur browser
Totem could not play 'mms://uni2.sa.streamaudio.com/KZEP_FM?SAT=ef3fe13e8a7d3c0f73a78aa7606730a3=1167720841919=1188=2007=1=1=22=54=1'.

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:56 am

if i'm reading things correctly something in my config is telling it to use totem instead of mplayer when launched thur browser

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:25 am

That's strange. Almost sounds like your mplayerplug-in isn't registered. Does it show up when you do an "about:plugins" in your browser location box? I'm not sure where totem would be coming in. I don't even have totem installed because even though it's the default player in Fedora I find it to be the most useless app ever written.

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:53 am

uninstalled totem and it now works like a charm thru browser but think i'll stick with using your script anyway ..thanks much as always .. this is why just tonight i told one of my buddies who is trying linux for first time (ubuntu) to check out this forum for learning.

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:59 am

need help for same problem again .. thsi time the site has changed so the script no longer works I'm up to fc8 on this system ..

as far as my mplayer version i get
[root@d01537 ~]# rpm -q mplayer mplayerplug-in
mplayer-1.0-0.91.20080531svn.lvn8
package mplayerplug-in is not installed
[root@d01537 ~]# yum install mplayerplug-in
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
Package mplayerplug-in is obsoleted by gecko-mediaplayer, trying to install gecko-mediaplayer-0.8.0-1.lvn8.i386 instead
Package gecko-mediaplayer-0.8.0-1.lvn8.i386 already installed and latest version
Nothing to do
the error i get from the site when trying from browser is that it does not think i have the plug-in i need

firefox is 3.0.3 and the mplayer plug does NOT show in about:plugins ..

was trying to install the mplayer plugin from
http://mplayerplug-in.sourceforge.net/download.php but the INSTALL needs the gecko-sdk and not sure what to grab since the firefox is not the build that FC8 shipped with (FC8 -> Firefox2 I'm using firefox 3)

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:44 pm

Can't you install the plugin with yum or apt-get?
mozilla-mplayer should be the package you're looking for.

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:57 pm

no go
[root@d01537 ~]# yum install mozilla-mplayer
livna | 2.1 kB 00:00
fedora | 2.1 kB 00:00
adobe-linux-i386 | 972 B 00:00
updates-newkey | 2.3 kB 00:00
updates | 2.6 kB 00:00
freshrpms | 2.6 kB 00:00
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
No package mozilla-mplayer available.
Nothing to do

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:20 pm

Just looked on livna.org and found what I looked for on this page.
The package is called mplayerplug-in, so you should be able to

Code: Select all

yum install mplayerplug-in
if the livna repository is enabled on your system.

Edit: I wonder why this very same package is called mozilla-mplayer in the debian repositories, the mozilla web browser doesn't even exist under that name anymore and the whole planet is using firefox, erm sorry iceweasel :P

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:54 pm

root@d01537 ~]# yum install mplayerplug-in
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
Package mplayerplug-in is obsoleted by gecko-mediaplayer, trying to install gecko-mediaplayer-0.8.0-1.lvn8.i386 instead
Package gecko-mediaplayer-0.8.0-1.lvn8.i386 already installed and latest version
Nothing to do

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:58 pm

Oops, sorry, I just noticed that you already tried to install that package :roll:
You say mplayer plugin does not show but apparently that gecko-plugin thing replaces it, sure you have looked for it but you didn't see a gecko-plugin or similar listed in about:plugins did you?

Otherwise, look in your plugins directory to see if it's there, on my system the browsers are all listed under /usr/lib
I have 10 different mplyerplug-ins in my /usr/lib/iceweasel/plugins directory
and same for seamonkey.

Post Reply