Indexes in Apache

Discuss Networking
Post Reply
Master of Reality
guru
guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:25 pm

Indexes in Apache

Post by Master of Reality »

apache 1.3.* on slackware
How do i get Indexes to work on a single directoy?
I added:
<Directory "/var/www/html/images/bass">
Options Multiviews Indexes
AllowOverride none
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>

to my httpd.conf and after restarting indexes still dont work, so whats wrong with what i did there^?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main »

You already have a directory definition for "/var/www/html" that applies for that directory and anything below it. I believe if you want to create a definition with different options it must be outside if the "/var/www/html" directory structure.

Master of Reality
guru
guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:25 pm

Post by Master of Reality »

ohhhhh.....i see
so if i want only one directory with indexes i should make /var/www/indexdir/ (or i could make sure all my other directories have "index.html" of course)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main »

I believe this to be the case but I could be wrong, and I am a little confused on exact the behavior you wish to obtain. I might be able to help further if you could explain in a little more detail what you are after.

Master of Reality
guru
guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:25 pm

Post by Master of Reality »

i just wanted one directory to have the index show up.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main »

Master of Reality wrote:i just wanted one directory to have the index show up.
Still confused. Let's see if I have it, in one directory you want to be able to place an "index.[html/php/cgi]" file and instead of having the web server automatically render it as a web page when you just enter the directory portion in the URL, instead have it's file name show up as part of a directory listing as if there were no index.html file at all. Is that sort of what you want?

Master of Reality
guru
guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:25 pm

Post by Master of Reality »

no there is no index.html/php/foo but my root dir is configured not to have indexes (because i set it like that), and i wanted one directory to have an index.

i got it set up the way i like now anyway.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main »

Ok, I see now. How did you finally end up configuring it?

Master of Reality
guru
guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:25 pm

Post by Master of Reality »

i decided i didnt want a directory with indexes.... i didnt just quit, i just dont need it anymroe.

Post Reply