Am I on the right track? HDD transfers.

Place to discuss anything, almost. No politics, religion, Microsoft, or anything else that I (the nazi censor) deem inappropriate.
Post Reply
JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Am I on the right track? HDD transfers.

Post by JoeDude » Fri Jul 27, 2007 6:20 am

Situation: Old 80 Gb (IDE) Maxtor hdd failing due to past overheating.
Partitions: 5Gb Ubuntu / Ext2
1 GB Swap
44 Gb /Home Ext2
40 Gb WinXp
New Hdd: 250 Gb Maxtor (IDE)

The plan: I intend to partiton the new hdd to 1 Gb Swap, 6 Gb / Ext3, 50GB Ext3, 50Gb Fat32, then make the remining 128 Gb storage space for the iso's.

I would then make .iso's with each partition and then copy the iso to the new partition. I think I will have to reinstall Grub if I do it this way.

I've looked online for "easy" ways, but there seems to be none.

The question: What do you guys do? Will what I am planning work?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:49 am

When you say ISOs I assume you mean images of your file systems on your hard drive and not really ISOs (CD/DVD file system images). Why even create images? Why not just dd the file systems from the old partitions to the new partitions? I have explained how I do it a few times here I know. Let me find an example... Here is one of many:

http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/forums/vi ... php?t=1703

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Fri Jul 27, 2007 9:35 am

Here's another place where drive swaps were discussed which you might find useful:
http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/forums/vi ... php?t=1481

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:57 am

Yep, copying is another way and that is a good link for it. I personally would dd the file systems but either way works.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:40 pm

OK, done...

Stupid question time...

Does it make sense that the copy over to the new drive was larger than the original?

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:34 pm

Like how much bigger? I know that some drives use different block sizes, but that shouldn't make too much difference.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Sun Jul 29, 2007 3:28 am

like...a 50 gb partition being copied over to the new and being 67.3 Gb....that's the xp partition.

/ 5 Gb to 6.7Gb
/home 24Gb to 41Gb

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Sun Jul 29, 2007 1:59 pm

OK, tell me does this make sense.

I dd'd it just as the man pages and void recomended. I partitioned first, followed the format, the whole 9 yards. What I think was happening was because I was copying to a larger partition, and the original was say 90% filled, the nwere one was filled to 90% as well.

Once I partitioned (one at a time) and copied immediately after, following the exact same sizes, then after completion, resized and started the next partition, everything went smooth. Sizes matched and everything.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:09 pm

JoeDude wrote:I partitioned first, followed the format,
You didn't have to format when you dd. In fact dd'ing the partition over would have wiped out whatever format you did. All you need to do is partition followed by the dd. dd copies the file system from the one partition to the other byte for byte. Like I probably said in the other message I normally create the new destination partitions slightly larger than the partitions I am dd'ing from and then do the resize2fs after the the dd so the file system is increased to the full size of the partition. Sounds like that's what you did in the end.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:22 am

Reinstall of grub was being a pain. I kept getting error 15 when I tried:

Code: Select all

sudo grub

find /boot/grub/stage1 (result was hd0,1)

root (hd0,1)

setup (hd0)

quit
So I did a bit of research, and found that actually mounting root could help and tried this:

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /mnt/root

sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/hda1 /mnt/root

sudo mount -t proc none /mnt/root/proc

sudo mount -o bind /dev /mnt/root/dev

sudo chroot /mnt/root /bin/bash

sudo grub

find /boot/grub/stage1

root (hd0,1) 

setup (hd0)

quit
This worked like a charm! Thanx for the help fellas!

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:46 am

I just boot from the rescue disk and let it mount all my partitions and then:

# chroot /mnt/sysimage
# grub-install

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:40 am

well...I was pretty proud of myself.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:52 pm

Heh heh, sorry, didn't mean to take that away from you. :)

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:51 pm

I figured out what I was doing wrong on the first set. I was telling it to setup (hd0,1) instead of setting up (hd0)!

Post Reply