eth0 won't start without NM in F16

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
Post Reply
User avatar
Basher52
guru
guru
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:57 am
Location: .SE

eth0 won't start without NM in F16

Post by Basher52 » Wed Jan 18, 2012 3:21 pm

These are my settings and works in F14.
Is there a bug in F16? no update are available as now right now.
or am I missing something else here.


ifconfig eth0

Code: Select all

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 0F:129:B7:85:1B
inet addr:192.168.67.92 Bcast:192.168.67.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fb80::211:d4fe:fec7:76eb/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:141 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:142 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:14807 (14.4 KiB) TX bytes:24863 (24.2 KiB)
Interrupt:23
ifcfg-eth0

Code: Select all

HWADDR=0F:129:B7:85:1B
IPV6INIT=no
UUID="5fb16be0-1bf1-8dfb-15a2-ddedd6ffee13"
IPADDR0=192.168.67.92
DNS1=1.2.3.4
PREFIX0=24
DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL="yes"
NM_CONTROLLED=no
BOOTPROTO=none
GATEWAY0=192.168.67.250
DNS2=2.3.4.5
DEVICE=eth0
TYPE=Ethernet
ONBOOT=yes
NAME="eth0"
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
USERCTL=no
PREFIX=24
Seems I can't get the correct search words for google cos I can't find the correct answer to it.
I don't use NM as 'Void Main' once told me that he didn't so I don't either :P

User avatar
Basher52
guru
guru
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:57 am
Location: .SE

Re: eth0 won't start without NM in F16

Post by Basher52 » Wed Jan 18, 2012 3:39 pm

Just found that from F15 they changed the naming for NICs, but there is nothing else but eth0.

Code: Select all

ls /etc/sysconfig/networking/profiles/default/
hosts ifcfg-eth0 network resolv.conf

Code: Select all

ls /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/
ifcfg-eth0
The only NIC I got after a start/restart is 'lo'
I can't ifup any emX but I can ifup this eth0

User avatar
Basher52
guru
guru
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:57 am
Location: .SE

Re: eth0 won't start without NM in F16

Post by Basher52 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 5:14 pm

Can't figure this one out so I'll reinstall

User avatar
Basher52
guru
guru
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:57 am
Location: .SE

Re: eth0 won't start without NM in F16

Post by Basher52 » Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:02 pm

Reinstalled, still named eth0, but I'll let that be, added a PCI NIC and that became named p1p1, which sounds OK.
Removed the Network Manager and now no one starts.

Been googling and asking about this but no answer that helps me out, is NM a necessity now?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Re: eth0 won't start without NM in F16

Post by Void Main » Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:40 pm

I use NetworkManager in Fedora 16. :) Of course I've only installed it on Laptops so far and it NetworkManager works well there.

User avatar
Basher52
guru
guru
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:57 am
Location: .SE

Re: eth0 won't start without NM in F16

Post by Basher52 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:19 pm

Then I gotta ask, why did you not use that in the previous versions? and what is the benefit of using it in the first place.
Think you even told me to not use that once so I always removed it but now it just won't work.
Now I just 'ifup' eth0 and p1p1 from /etc/rc.d/rc.local and that seems to work.

Post Reply