apt-get for Red Hat repository problem...

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
Post Reply
User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

apt-get for Red Hat repository problem...

Post by Void Main » Wed Jan 29, 2003 4:28 pm

Yesterday I added a new repository to my sources.list and installed a couple of apps. Ice9 mentioned today that he was having problems with a lot of GUI system apps not working. I realized I was having similar problems, most of them being "redhat-config-*" packages. I realized that the "pygtk2" package was common to all of them and indeed it had been updated which broke all the dependent programs. The problem repository entries were these:

Code: Select all

rpm http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/apt redhat/8.0/en/i386 os
rpm http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/apt redhat/8.0/en/i386 updates
rpm http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/apt redhat/8.0/en/i386 planetccrma
Here is what I did to clean up the problems that it caused:

# apt-get remove pygtk2

which on my system selected around 25 total packages for removal (most of them being "redhat-config-*" packages). You'll want to open an editor and copy/paste the list of packages into a file so you can reinstall them later. Then I modified my sources.list file and commented out the offending repository entries listed above. Then run "# apt-get update" and then synaptic (or apt-get) and install all of the packages that were removed.

It's too bad, planetccrma has some nice audio apps. If anyone knows a solution to this (or if they fix their repository) let me know.

For now I have commented it out in my Red Hat apt-get tip.

Thanks!

Original Thread

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1348
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Thu Jan 30, 2003 3:56 am

it's kind of a shame that there are these repository problems when the apt program is such a sweet idea.

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Thu Jan 30, 2003 4:49 am

I guess its just the price of freedom.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Jan 30, 2003 5:09 am

I haven't had any serious problems with any of them except for this new one I found. All the others have been perfect with the exception of one single package (mplayer-skins) which has since been fixed. I certainly can't complain about that...

nando
n00b
n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 3:40 pm

Re: apt-get for Red Hat repository problem...

Post by nando » Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:36 pm

[quote="Void Main"]
It's too bad, planetccrma has some nice audio apps. If anyone knows a solution to this (or if they fix their repository) let me know.
[/quote]

This was fixed a long time ago (as soon as I became aware of the problem), the fix happened on January 31st. The original mammut package announcement was on January 26th (that was the update that triggered the problem). See this thread in the planet ccrma mailing list:

http://ccrma-mail.stanford.edu/pipermai ... 01176.html

Also this message and the end of the thread:

http://ccrma-mail.stanford.edu/pipermai ... 01178.html

...for an easy way out of the problem.

I don't think it is necessary at this point to comment out the urls in your list... Also, probably the url's are not really enough, most of the software in Planet CCRMA depends on having alsa installed and that is not trivial (but it is documented in the web site), and for best realtime performance the low latency enabled kernel is also useful. See:

http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/software/

The repository will change to a somewhat different structure, update happening on the next few days (I hope)

-- Fernando

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:41 pm

Thank you very much Fernando! I'll fix up my instructions and add it back in to the repository list. Glad to hear it was fixed, it was just my dumb luck that it happened like the day after I added CCRMA to my sources.list.

Post Reply