Fedora Core 3

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Fedora Core 3

Post by insomnia » Mon Nov 08, 2004 9:50 pm

...available for download.
http://fedora.redhat.com/download/

Significant changes:
*GCC 3.4
*GNOME 2.8 and KDE 3.3
*SELinux is now used as default
*No kernel-source included
...

Do give your opinions (also about SELinux) .

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Nov 09, 2004 5:50 am

I'll turn this into a sticky thread. I am interested in what people think as well. I usually have all my machines upgraded within a couple days of release but it might be a little while before I get some time. Then again, I may have them all upgraded by tonight. :) How can they not include the kernel source? Doesn't seem possible.

User avatar
Basher52
guru
guru
Posts: 925
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:57 am
Location: .SE

Post by Basher52 » Tue Nov 09, 2004 5:58 am

Sorry for being a n00b, but whats SELinux?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Nov 09, 2004 6:05 am


User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Kernel Source

Post by Void Main » Tue Nov 09, 2004 6:37 am

It looks like the kernel source is on the source CD rather than the binary CD:

binary CD:
kernel-2.6.9-1.667.i586.rpm
kernel-2.6.9-1.667.i686.rpm
kernel-smp-2.6.9-1.667.i586.rpm
kernel-smp-2.6.9-1.667.i686.rpm

SRC CD:
kernel-2.6.9-1.667.src.rpm

I guess since 3rd party modules can now be built without the source being installed it makes more sense to ship it this way (proper headers are installed with the binary RPM). Now it's just like any other RPM, binary on binary CD and source on SRC CD.

agent007
administrator
administrator
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:26 pm

Post by agent007 » Tue Nov 09, 2004 1:01 pm

Do other distros use SELinux? or is it only Fedora?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Nov 09, 2004 1:18 pm

agent007 wrote:Do other distros use SELinux? or is it only Fedora?
I think you can install SELinux on any distro with varying degrees of shoe horning. That is, if a distribution doesn't ship with it you have a lot more work than just installing the kernel to deal with. I think at this point at least Fedora, Debian, and Gentoo should be fairly painless. Here you might find a little more info on various distros:

http://selinux.sourceforge.net/

Of course the best source of information would be by searching the site of the distro you are interested in for SELinux information.

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Tue Nov 09, 2004 1:30 pm

Will the source still be available via synaptic/apt?

What's the codename for FC3?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Nov 09, 2004 2:00 pm

worker201 wrote:Will the source still be available via synaptic/apt?
Yes:
http://ayo.freshrpms.net/fedora/linux/3 ... 67.src.rpm

but instead of installing via "apt-get install kernel-source" you would "apt-get source kernel" like any other package (at least this is how it would appear to me without having actually tried it yet).
What's the codename for FC3?
This is what's in the /etc/fedora-release file:

Code: Select all

Fedora Core release 3 (Heidelberg)

insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:11 pm

First remarks:
*FC3 seems to be using the default GNOME look(2 pannels)
*/dev became /udev
http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/udev/
*Firefox is the default browser
*it froze after installing the nvidia driver (I tried it the normal way, first installing and configuring the kernel src rpm)

Seems Like Fedora keeps having "kernel+nvida" problems.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:37 pm

I actually read about nVidia drivers this morning on the Fedora mailing list. It is my understanding that you should not have to recompile the kernel. The driver should install as is. There is one small thing relating to the new udev that you will have to work around though to ensure the module gets loaded:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthr ... b4&t=40249
http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/udev/
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/sh ... ?id=133900

The problems that have cropped up with nVidia in Fedora 2 were more of an nVidia problem than a Fedora problem. Fedora was just implementing the newest kernels which had switched to 4k stacks. nVidia drivers at the time were written to handle only the 8k stacks. The new nVidia drivers now do 4k stacks and have no problems. Fedora is more of a "bleeding edge" distro so there will likely always be bleeding edge issues with proprietary 3rd party developers until they can catch up. This ultimately benefits the other distros because the bugs will have been worked out by the time they implement the newer releases.

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Wed Nov 10, 2004 3:37 pm

Woooo, time to fire up BT for the DVD :D

insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:41 pm

Their's currently also a problem with DAG.
At first it all works nice, till you update apt.
It replaced all respos for FC3(including those from freshrpms) with the ones from FC2.

So far, I still like this release tho...(I'm even starting to like GNOME again)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:58 pm

Well, I got all 9 CDs and the DVD downloaded for FC3. I plan on doing some burning when I get home and upgrading at least one machine (probably start with my laptop). Hopefully everything will go ok. I plan on setting up my repositories for FC3 so I can attempt doing an upgrade via apt-get locally. I have a feeling it may be more painful with this release because of the kernel and udev changes but hopefully I will be pleasantly surprised.

lovswr
scripter
scripter
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 2:06 pm
Location: [H]otlanta
Contact:

Post by lovswr » Thu Nov 11, 2004 7:10 pm

Tux wrote:Woooo, time to fire up BT for the DVD :D
Tux did you actually do this? I got the dvd iso, * fired up Nero 6 on my XP Pro box. I can not burn an bootable DVD image. My first problem is Nero kept tellimg me that it was over 2.4G & that I should use "UHD" (i think), but as far as I understand, it must be iso 9600. Well I kinda got iver that hump (i think) & just selected my DVD drive (lite on *X) & create image from the "burner" tab at the top. This seemed to burn teh image but it is not bootable.

Post Reply