nVidia problems after update (FC3)

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
dishawjp
administrator
administrator
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 9:05 am
Location: Central NY
Contact:

nVidia problems after update (FC3)

Post by dishawjp » Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:48 pm

Hi All,

I just did my apt updates this morning and lost my 3D again. I've checked permissions on /dev.nvidia* and they look good, Same with /etc/udev/permissions.d/50-udev.permissions. My /etc/security/console.perms look OK as does my /etc/X11/xorg.conf. I get teh nVidia splash screen, but the video seems to be a bit "laggy' and there is no 3D acceleration in Tuxracer.

The updated packages include lots of xorg stuff and udev.

Code: Select all

[root@eunix archives]# ls -lct | grep Dec
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    192901 Dec  4 12:47 mplayerplug-in_2.70-2.1.fc3.rf_i386.rpm
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root      4096 Dec  4 12:47 partial
-rw-r-----  1 root root         0 Dec  4 12:47 lock
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    326157 Dec  4 12:17 xorg-x11-twm_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    502673 Dec  4 12:17 xorg-x11-tools_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    288451 Dec  4 12:17 xorg-x11-font-utils_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   6306322 Dec  4 12:17 xorg-x11-doc_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    333602 Dec  4 12:17 xorg-x11-xdm_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    432989 Dec  4 12:17 xorg-x11-Mesa-libGLU_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  10758202 Dec  4 12:17 thunderbird_0%3a0.9-1.fc3_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    301702 Dec  4 12:16 nfs-utils_1.0.6-44_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root     62435 Dec  4 12:16 selinux-policy-targeted_1.17.30-2.39_noarch.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    156012 Dec  4 12:16 hal_0.4.2-1.FC3_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    633929 Dec  4 12:16 udev_039-10.FC3.4_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   2271610 Dec  4 12:16 gedit_1%3a2.8.1-2.fc3_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    250714 Dec  4 12:16 gtksourceview_1.1.0-4.fc3_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   4540154 Dec  4 12:16 gtk2_2.4.13-10.fc3_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   2658147 Dec  4 12:16 xorg-x11-libs_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   5275254 Dec  4 12:16 xorg-x11-devel_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    252095 Dec  4 12:15 xorg-x11-deprecated-libs_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    259922 Dec  4 12:15 xorg-x11-deprecated-libs-devel_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    301348 Dec  4 12:15 xorg-x11-xfs_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  13640180 Dec  4 12:15 xorg-x11_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7670908 Dec  4 12:15 xine-lib_1.0.0-0.16.rc7.1.fc3.rf_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    374743 Dec  4 12:15 xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    265628 Dec  4 12:15 xorg-x11-xauth_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   1570909 Dec  4 12:15 xorg-x11-Xnest_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   1682281 Dec  4 12:14 xorg-x11-Xvfb_6.8.1-12.FC3.21_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    600402 Dec  4 12:14 boost_1.32.0-1.fc3_i386.rpm
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   3335301 Dec  4 12:14 boost-devel_1.32.0-1.fc3_i386.rpm
Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance,

Jim Dishaw

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sat Dec 04, 2004 7:32 pm

Well, I can see one that historically caused conflicts and that's the Mesa-GL RPM. I don't think that's it though because my system gets upgraded every night and I just had my son check Tux Racer and it he said it worked fine. I "init 3;init 5" on the machine and had him try again and it still worked fine so if you ask me it sounds like a permissions thing. Do you have the same problem if you start X as root and run it? The permissions on my /dev/nvidia* are root:root 660. I'm thinking I don't run in to the problem because I run the GDM graphical login manager (init 5) which runs as root. You might also try loging in after an "init 5" and see if you experience the same behavior.

dishawjp
administrator
administrator
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 9:05 am
Location: Central NY
Contact:

Post by dishawjp » Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:51 pm

Thanks for the response Voidmain. It makes no difference if I start X as root or as normal user. I even tried resetting my inittab to boot me to runlevel 5, and still no 3D acceleration. I checked for permissions issues, at least those I knew about before posting.

It's no biggie, especially since I do very little that requires 3D. It's just annoying. Like that KDSKBENT problem I still have. Not serious, just not right.

Now I'm working on my daughter's Linux box. She was running FC1 and everything worked well, but since FC1 was hitting EOL, I thought it best to upgrade her to FC3. FC3 refuses to recognize her sound card! Actually, right now that's more of a problem for me than my lack of 3D. I promised her I'd have her computer ready for her to take home with her tomorrow.

I really do love Linux, but sometimes I wonder about FC3.

Jim

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sat Dec 04, 2004 10:06 pm

Did you try reinstalling your nVidia drivers so your GL libraries are right? That has to be your problem.

dishawjp
administrator
administrator
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 9:05 am
Location: Central NY
Contact:

Post by dishawjp » Sat Dec 04, 2004 10:28 pm

Thanks Voidmain,

As usual, your recommendation did it. The 3D on my machine is back up and running!

Any thoughts about the ess soundcard on my daughter's computer? The hardware browser GUI thing sees a "ESS ES1869 Plug and Play Audio Drive ESS 1869
and calls for a driver snd-es18xx. But when I do a "system-configure-soundcard" it says "no sound card detected."

Any thoughts on how to get this going?

Jim

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Dec 05, 2004 9:37 am

Well, I have a Compaq Laptop with the ESS ES1968 Maestro 2E and it works fine. I had upgraded it from FC2 and didn't have to mess with any configuration at all, it just worked. I had upgraded from FC1 to FC2 before that. I don't remember if I ever had to manually configure anything on it but I might have.

I notice the kernel driver from my sound card is in the pci section of modules and my sound card shows up in an "lspci" where the snd-es18xx driver shows up in the isa section of modules. Does your card show up in an "lspci"? I suspect it wouldn't if it's ISA. Now, I have never used "system-config-soundcard" before mainly because I didn't know it existed because my sound has always worked automatically. :) I'll tell you what I have in my /etc/modules.conf and it might work for you by just changing all occurances of "snd-es1968" to "snd-es18xx":

sound section of /etc/modules.conf:

Code: Select all

# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
alias snd-card-0 snd-es1968

# module options should go here
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0

# card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss

# Load/Save mixer settings when Starting/Stopping the system
post-install snd-card-0 /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
pre-remove snd-card-0 /usr/sbin/alsactl store >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
post-install sound-slot-0 /bin/aumix-minimal -f /etc/.aumixrc -L >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
pre-remove sound-slot-0 /bin/aumix-minimal -f /etc/.aumixrc -S >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
# Note: for use under 2.6, changes must also be made to modprobe.conf!
And the sound portion of my /etc/modprobe.conf (which I think was automatically generated, but could be wrong):

Code: Select all

alias char-major-116-* snd
alias snd-card-0 snd-es1968
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
install snd-card-0 /sbin/modprobe --first-time --ignore-install snd-card-0 && { /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :; }
install sound-slot-0 /sbin/modprobe --first-time --ignore-install sound-slot-0 && { /bin/aumix-minimal -f /etc/.aumixrc -L >/dev/null 2>&1 || :; }
remove snd-card-0 { /usr/sbin/alsactl store >/dev/null 2>&1 || :; } ; /sbin/modprobe -r --first-time --ignore-remove snd-card-0
remove sound-slot-0 { /bin/aumix-minimal -f /etc/.aumixrc -S >/dev/null 2>&1 || :; } ; /sbin/modprobe -r --first-time --ignore-remove sound-slot-0
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias eth1 e100
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias char-major-14-* soundcore
In case there are problems with long lines wrapping above I'll put copies of these two files in my files section:
http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/files/con ... probe.conf
http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/files/con ... dules.conf

As you can see there is a comment at the end of each file. I believe that with the 2.6 kernel in FC3 the modules.conf file is ignored and the modprobe.conf file is used. In the 2.4 kernels the modules.conf file is used and the modprobe.conf is ignored. Also as I said, I think this file is autogenerated somewhere along the line so I'm not sure if it would survive a reboot. At any rate I would try getting those lines in there and then modprobing your sound modules if they aren't already loaded and see if sound then works. We can work on any other modprobe.conf issues later. Here's the snd* modules that are loaded on my laptop:

Code: Select all

$ lsmod | grep snd
snd_es1968             41413  2
snd_ac97_codec         64401  1 snd_es1968
snd_pcm_oss            47608  0
snd_mixer_oss          17217  2 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                97993  2 snd_es1968,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer              29765  1 snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          9673  2 snd_es1968,snd_pcm
gameport                4801  1 snd_es1968
snd_mpu401_uart         8769  1 snd_es1968
snd_rawmidi            26725  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          8137  1 snd_rawmidi
snd                    54053  11 snd_es1968,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore               9889  2 snd
I think if you get the modprobe.conf set up you should only have to issue a "modprobe snd" command to load all the above modules.

dishawjp
administrator
administrator
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 9:05 am
Location: Central NY
Contact:

Post by dishawjp » Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:56 am

Voidmain,

Well, things sure look a lot different in this computer than in yours. It's an old Compaq desktop that's been pretty cobbed up over the years. I do believe that the sound card is an ISA unit since it doesn't show up in the lspci command as a matter of fact, not much at all does:

Code: Select all

[root@vixen etc]# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03 )
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
00:0e.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corp. 82557/8/9 [Ethernet Pro 100] (rev 05)
00:14.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
00:14.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
00:14.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
00:14.3 Bridge: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Matrox Graphics, Inc. MGA G200 AGP (rev 03)
[root@vixen etc]#
There is no /etc/modules.conf file:

Code: Select all

[root@vixen etc]# cat modules.conf
cat: modules.conf: No such file or directory
[root@vixen etc]#
and the entire modprobe.conf looks like this:

Code: Select all

[root@vixen etc]# cat modprobe.conf
alias eth0 e100
alias snd-card-0 snd-es18xx
options snd-card-0 index=0
install snd-es18xx /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-es18xx && /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
remove snd-es18xx { /usr/sbin/alsactl store >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-es18xx
alias usb-controller uhci-hcd
[root@vixen etc]#
It's wrapped, but at least you can see that it does talk about a sound card.

Before I hose this any more, are you suggesting that I copy the output from your "lsmod | grep snd" command to my moduleprobe.conf file, change the card/driver number from 1968 to 1869 in all instances and then issue a "modprobe snd" command?

I'll wait to hear back from you before trying this. I just want to be certain that I understand correctly before diving into this and maybe messing something else up. My wife and daughter are out doing girl things (actually going to see the Moscow Ballet... I'm sure glad I have stuff to do around the house and can't go to that) so I should have most of the day to play with this..

Once more thanks for all your help.

Jim

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Dec 05, 2004 11:19 am

No, I just did the "lsmod | grep snd" to show you what kernel modules I had loaded. These are loaded automatically based on what is in your /etc/modprobe.conf. What I was suggesting is first of all, make a backup copy of any file that you change and then try making your /etc/modprobe.conf look like mine (just the sound related stuff). The exception is the one driver name, I have "snd-es1968" and you'll change that to "snd-es18xx". Once you make that change you would do a "modprobe snd" to load the modules. I would be interested in knowing if that command produces any error messages and what the output of "lsmod | grep snd" is on your machine before and after changing that modprobe.conf file.

Also, the output of "dmesg" might possibly be of some help but I kinda suspect there will be nothing in there relating to your sound card. I think the biggest issue might be that it's ISA. It's been a long time since I had to deal with ISA sound devices so I would have to do a little more digging to see what other things would be involved in trouble-shooting this. I'm going to be out for the next couple of hours doing dirt bike maintenance though so I may not respond for a while. Hopefully you can find something. Here is the writeup over at the ALSA web site for the es18xx:

http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-doc/do ... ule=es18xx

The above document is targeted toward the 2.4 kernel so it really won't work for you but it might lead to other info.

dishawjp
administrator
administrator
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 9:05 am
Location: Central NY
Contact:

Post by dishawjp » Sun Dec 05, 2004 2:22 pm

Voidmain,

Something's wrong. I figured that for a few dollars I would go out and buy her a decent, generic PCI soundcard and be done with it. I picked up a Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit card. I thought that nothing could go wrong. I plugged it in, Kudzu conveniently detected the removal of the old card which system-config-soundcard insisted was not there, but failed to detect the new card. I ran system-config-soundcard again and it told me that no soundcard was detected. In fact, the hardware browser, which saw the old card, can't see this one.

I'll hang on to this thing for a few more days. I should see my daughter some time later this week to get it back to her, but this is annoying!

If you have any ideas, please let me know, but it probably is time to get her a newer computer. Christmas isn't all that far away.

Jim

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Dec 05, 2004 3:18 pm

Just because it's a PCI sound card doesn't mean it will work although I would think that one should as it's a pretty common card. It's one of them listed here right?

http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-doc/in ... abs#matrix

Does it show up when you do an "lspci"? Did you remove the old ISA card? If your old sound card is onboard maybe you have to disable it. Do you have any files and directories under /proc/asound? If you have an /proc/asound/cards file what does "cat /proc/asound/cards" output? Again, it might be helpful to see the output of a "dmesg" command. Also, what does your /etc/modprobe.conf file have in it? Are any modules are loaded? Does gnome-alsamixer work?

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Sun Dec 05, 2004 5:34 pm

I used to have an NEC laptop, and it had an es1869 onboard soundchip. I had Slackware 9.1 on there. Lord, I must have tried thousands of different things and pored over hundreds of conf files and browsed hundreds of websites, and still could not get the thing to work. Unfortunately, that computer died of old age, and it will probably never run again. But I am watching this topic intently, if only for posterity's sake. I wish I had Void Main around back then!!! But hey, I learned how to compile and install kernels, since I redid it twice a week for two months, so that's not bad.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Dec 05, 2004 5:48 pm

Heh heh, well I haven't helped to this point. Sound on Linux is one area that I'm not that confident with. I've been lucky so far that on machines I really wanted sound to work on it's been fairly painless. I just get the feeling sometimes that I must be one of the luckiest SOBs around. :)

dishawjp
administrator
administrator
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 9:05 am
Location: Central NY
Contact:

Post by dishawjp » Sun Dec 05, 2004 7:37 pm

Hi Again,

It is listed and since it's a pretty common card and relatively recent one, I thought that it would be no problem.

The former card was an ISA card and I did remove it. Kudzu saw that it was removed even though the install insisted that there was no sound card installed.

Running an lspci does show the card:

Code: Select all

[root@vixen ~]# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
00:0e.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corp. 82557/8/9 [Ethernet Pro 100] (rev 05)
00:10.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy LS
00:14.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
00:14.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
00:14.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
00:14.3 Bridge: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Matrox Graphics, Inc. MGA G200 AGP (rev 03)
[root@vixen ~]#
But the "lsmod | grep snd" shows nothing. My /etc/modprobe.conf still shows the old card. Would it make sense to delete that line and try again?

Code: Select all

[root@vixen etc]# cat modprobe.conf
alias eth0 e100
install snd-es18xx /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-es18xx && /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
alias usb-controller uhci-hcd
[root@vixen etc]#
I just get the feeling sometimes that I must be one of the luckiest SOBs around. :)
No, not necessarily lucky, just smart as hell. Things that throw us through loops just take you a few minutes to sort out.
But I am watching this topic intently, if only for posterity's sake.
It seems that I can bring some real head scratchers to this forum. I'm glad to see that others benefit from some of my issues. Or at least get a laugh or two off the old man trying to deal with computers. :-)

Anyway, I have until Wednesday to try and straighten this out. And, even if I can't, it really is about time that I build her something better. Now if that gives me trouble....

Thanks for your support and suggestions!

Jim

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Dec 05, 2004 9:45 pm

You definitely do not want the es18xx in your modprobe.conf. According to your lspci output you have an SB Audigy LS which is a different section than the Sound Blaster Live! on the Sound Blaster page on the ALSA site. It also doesn't show that exact name on the ALSA site. An "lspci -vv" would give you some more info. I also found an interesting blurb here:

http://opensource.creative.com/soundcard.html
Some OEM cards and the latest retail boards (such as the Dell CT0200 and the Audigy LS) will not work with the drivers included in most Linux distributions. For those cards, try the latest code from ALSA or purchase a driver from 4FrontTechnologies.
At any rate, after looking around at the links found on the above link I am wondering what would happen if you removed that es18xx line out of your modprobe.conf and then did this:

# modprobe emu10k1

then either

# kudzu

and/or

# system-config-soundcard

assuming the module loaded in the first line.

dishawjp
administrator
administrator
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 9:05 am
Location: Central NY
Contact:

Post by dishawjp » Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:35 pm

Hi Voidmain,

I had a short night at court and got home early enough to continue working on this.

I deleted the line from my modprobe.conf and then ran the commands you suggested.

This was the result:

Code: Select all

[root@vixen etc]# modprobe emu10k1
FATAL: Module emu10k1 not found.
[root@vixen etc]# system-config-soundcard
The system-config-soundcard returned a "No sound cards were detected" message. Not too surprising given that the emu10k1 module didn't load.

The output from my "lspci -vv" which related to my soundcard is as follows:

Code: Select all

00:10.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy LS
        Subsystem: Creative Labs: Unknown device 1006
        Control: I/O+ Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
        Status: Cap+ 66Mhz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 11
        Region 0: I/O ports at 1060 [size=32]
        Capabilities: [dc] Power Management version 2
                Flags: PMEClk- DSI+ D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
                Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Something which *may* have some bearing on this is what the lscpi reported on my ethernet card. It looks like they both want IRQ11

Code: Select all

00:0e.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corp. 82557/8/9 [Ethernet Pro 100] (rev 05)
        Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation NC3121 Fast Ethernet NIC (WOL)
        Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
        Status: Cap+ 66Mhz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
        Latency: 66 (2000ns min, 14000ns max), Cache Line Size 08
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 11
        Region 0: Memory at 40a00000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
        Region 1: I/O ports at 1000 [size=32]
        Region 2: Memory at 40900000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
        Capabilities: [dc] Power Management version 1
                Flags: PMEClk- DSI+ D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold+)
                Status: D0 PME-Enable+ DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Note the "Interrupt" lines. Is that a clue?

I followed the links you supplied, but would have expected that in FC3 these drivers would be included. Oh,and following one of the suggestions on the link you posted, I also did a "modinfo soundcore." It gave me this:

Code: Select all

[root@vixen etc]# modinfo soundcore
filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.9-1.667/kernel/sound/soundcore.ko
description:    Core sound module
author:         Alan Cox
license:        GPL
alias:          char-major-14-*
vermagic:       2.6.9-1.667 686 REGPARM 4KSTACKS gcc-3.4
depends:
[root@vixen etc]#
Which looks like that should be OK.

I did one other thing (up to my second edit on this now) I ran an lsmod | grep snd and it's no longer empty. Just awful sparse compared to yours.

Code: Select all

[root@vixen etc]# lsmod | grep snd
snd                    54053  0
soundcore               9889  1 snd
[root@vixen etc]#
Thanks again for everything.

Jim

Post Reply