Fedora DNS & Gateway Server

Place to discuss Fedora and/or Red Hat
Post Reply
Tornado105
n00b
n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:11 pm

Fedora DNS & Gateway Server

Post by Tornado105 » Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:16 pm

Hello ,
i need to know how to setup my fedora to provide the internet to windows clients , i have adsl connection and 2 network adapters
i have the 1st version of fedora core and i can install something else like redhat 9 , if fedora is not working
if you can't help , please tell me where can i find the help :)
note : iam really new on linux

thank you

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:21 pm

I have a pentium 100 with 3 interfaces running Fedora Core 1 acting as my firewall/gateway. I like Shorewall for my firewall configuration:

http://www.shorewall.net/

For DNS/DHCP I have a HOWTO:

http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/redhat/fe ... c_dns.html

I actually run these services on a different pentium 100 funning FC1 but they could all run on the same box. I can't help you with the Windows part of it here other than to say it should work.

Tornado105
n00b
n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:11 pm

Post by Tornado105 » Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:41 pm

thank you very much , i will try it , and i hope it will help :) , any other solutions?

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:37 pm

just a quick one..

As a fast install that does just about everything for you,
try http://www.linuxkungfu.org/ipkungfu (install - make minor
changes to suite your environment - fire it up and away you go)

My first servers were all based on ipkungfu - until I got to understand
what it is all about.

In fact my standby server running FC1 still uses ipkungfu with only
- I think - 3 or 4 changes in the configuration file.

<edit>
yoiks - removed the fullstop I had at the end of the url;)
</edit>
Last edited by caveman on Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:45 pm

If that link brings up our friendly information minister you might want to try this one:
http://www.linuxkungfu.org/

:)

Tornado105
n00b
n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:11 pm

Post by Tornado105 » Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:02 pm

i downloaded and installed shorewall , but when i try to start it it tell

Error : No Zone Defined

please tell me what to do

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:23 pm

Tornado105 wrote:i downloaded and installed shorewall , but when i try to start it it tell

Error : No Zone Defined

please tell me what to do
The first thing I usually do is read the instructions:
http://www.shorewall.net/

Post Reply