Why I run Linux...

Are you a Linux advocate? Post your success stories here.
Post Reply
X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Why I run Linux...

Post by X11 » Wed Sep 22, 2004 6:16 am

Because I am in control.

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Wed Sep 22, 2004 2:13 pm

Because the really powerful high-end command-line-based scientific applications are all open source. Microsoft and Apple don't get NSF grants.

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:05 pm

Because I can do really cool oops with cryptoloop and other nifty oops like that.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:09 pm

"driftnet" is one if the coolest little tidbits I've run across in a while.

# apt-get install driftnet

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:38 pm

I totally have to get that after googleing it.

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Thu Sep 23, 2004 1:58 am

Yeh driftnet is neat, it's a shame switches spoil the fun :)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Sep 23, 2004 6:05 am

Tux wrote:Yeh driftnet is neat, it's a shame switches spoil the fun :)
That's why you set up a span/rspan strategically in front of the proxies/firewalls. ;)

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Mon Sep 27, 2004 1:59 pm

Void Main wrote:
Tux wrote:Yeh driftnet is neat, it's a shame switches spoil the fun :)
That's why you set up a span/rspan strategically in front of the proxies/firewalls. ;)
expand on this...

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Mon Sep 27, 2004 3:24 pm

This orta cover it:
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/ ... 7f323.html

Basically you need a high end switch capable of doing spanning (or port mirroring is another term). If you do not have such a switch then you can not sniff traffic on one or more ports on your switch. You'll either have to get such a high end switch or go the other way and get a dumb hub.

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Tue Sep 28, 2004 1:09 am

Is there a way to set up somthing like that with my firewall (Fedora Core 1)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Sep 28, 2004 2:28 am

Setup something like what? A firewall is not a switch, but you don't even have to concern yourself with that in your setup. Just run driftnet on your firewall if you want to watch the images flying through it. The key is to be able to get the choke point between the inside and the outside. Your Linux firewall *is* the choke point.

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Tue Sep 28, 2004 8:33 pm

Yea I got it installed there now...

Im seeing to much advertising.

Jenda
programmer
programmer
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 9:46 am
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by Jenda » Tue May 24, 2005 2:48 pm

I like to be Free!!!

Post Reply