Yep Suse 10.1

Place to discuss SUSE
moto526
scripter
scripter

Yep Suse 10.1

Post by moto526 » Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:19 pm

Well I had my wondows 2000 machine just sitting there looking at me saying "hey what about me"? So I grabed my new copies of Suse 10.1 and installed it... All I can say is Suse is very nice to look at and that is about all the time I had for today to look at it. I am new to the linux world and really seem to be jumping in head first (Thanks Void!)...

I really LOVE the look of Suse and I have a lot more to learn with my Fedora distro first before I sink me teeth into Suse, but I can't believe more people are not in this section of the forum, it sure looks like a sweet os.

moto526
scripter
scripter

Post by moto526 » Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:50 pm

So I don't get Gnome and KDE desktops, what are the differences?

Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Void Main » Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:54 pm

Some people like KDE, some like GNOME, some like WindowMaker, some like Enlightenment, some like XFce, some like blackbox, some like mwm, some like openlook, some like IceWM, some like fvwm, some like twm, some like.... Me, I like them all. :)

http://xwinman.org/

moto526
scripter
scripter

Post by moto526 » Sat Jun 24, 2006 6:28 pm

Man I really like Suse but it is way harder to use for me... Fedora will be staying my main machine...

Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Void Main » Sat Jun 24, 2006 6:31 pm

Interesting, what are some examples of things that seem harder? Is it KDE that seems harder than GNOME (because you can run either on both distros), or is it the management tools that SUSE includes vs the management tools that Fedora includes? Or something else?

moto526
scripter
scripter

Post by moto526 » Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:29 am

Well when I installed Suse I went with Gnome.