fstab / mount question

Place to discuss Debian Linux and Debian based distributions
Post Reply
User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

fstab / mount question

Post by Calum » Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:48 pm

Code: Select all

root@harvey:~# mount /winsux
mount: special device /dev/disk/by-uuid/00C5-7CFA does not exist
root@harvey:~# cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
# /dev/hda3 -- converted during upgrade to edgy
UUID=ee374cd2-39ef-453d-aa98-b390ff4c84a5 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/hda2 -- converted during upgrade to edgy
UUID=812064cf-0513-4196-b7e3-5433484e8c9c /home ext3 defaults 0 2
# /dev/hda1 -- converted during upgrade to edgy
UUID=00C5-7CFA /winsux vfat quiet 0 0
# /dev/hda5 -- converted during upgrade to edgy
UUID=c174d6e9-1dec-4910-a922-faeadb558fb5 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hdc        /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 ro,user,noauto  0       0
/dev/fd0        /media/floppy0  auto    rw,user,noauto  0       0
/dev/sda        /media/usb0     auto    rw,user,noauto,sync  0       0
what's up? all of a sudden i can't see my /winsux partition...

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:51 pm

well, changing it back to /dev/hda5 instead of all that garbled up crap has fixed it totally, but what's up with this? why can't we just use sensible values in /etc/fstab? are there good reasons for this sort of thing? i don't even know what this is called, but have seen funny goings on similar to it in fedora as well. Anybody know?

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Fri Feb 09, 2007 4:04 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UUID

That explains what it is. Not totally sure what was wrong with not having identifiers at all, especially for home/personal users.

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:37 am

it doesn't seem like there's much point in this for home users at all. Even if i were to later on network more than one PC together, surely there are other ways to reference another PC's /dev/hda5 (or whatever) than by assigning some random garbage to it. Or is this some sort of security thing? i really don't get why i would want it at all.

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:12 pm

I was wondering if it was maybe some facet of SELinux, or perhaps a requirement of other computers running SELinux...

Again, things that shouldn't concern a home user.

Post Reply