Why am I having so much problem setting up my network!

Place to discuss Debian Linux and Debian based distributions
Post Reply
JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Why am I having so much problem setting up my network!

Post by JoeDude » Wed May 16, 2007 2:54 am

ok, befor, all I had to do was install a few packages and zoom I was off. browsing each computers files connected to my router, sharing files and living the life of bliss...now, for some reason, I can't do it at all.

The set up hasn't changed:
Motorola SB5101E Surfboard Cable modem
to
Linksys BEFSR41 Ehterfast Cable/DSL 4 port Router
to
the computers

One machine dual boots with Ubuntu and XP
One other is the Debian 4.0 of previous the thread

Both have ethernet 10/100 cards

Is there a quick tutorial somewhere? I have tried SMB and NFS to no avail. I've been surfing the net getting all kinds of information but none of it has worked...or somewhere to tell me exactly what settings my router has to have...which by the way haven't changed....

HELP! please....

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Wed May 16, 2007 3:52 am

Do you have the correct dns entry in your ethernet card configuration?
You would have to point it to your router's ip.
Have you tried pinging the pc's?

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Wed May 16, 2007 5:30 pm

What settings in the ethernet card are you referring to?

They do ping each others IP.

Ice9
guru
guru
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 12:40 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Ice9 » Thu May 17, 2007 2:26 pm

You have to put the ip address(es) of your dns in /etc/resolv.conf but this shouldn't affect your ability to browse local files.
If you can ping the pc's then you could try to use scp to move files around, see if that works.
If it works you're probably missing a package to be able to do it graphically.

Post Reply