Suddenly won't boot

Place to discuss Debian Linux and Debian based distributions
Post Reply
X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Suddenly won't boot

Post by X11 » Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:55 pm

Oddly, Ubuntu won't boot on my system all of the sudden. I am certain the kernel I am using used to boot.

Here is what I get: http://johntate.org/sites/default/files/Image0086.jpg

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:16 pm

Does Ubuntu have a rescue mode like Fedora/Redhat has? Can you boot into that from CD and mount your root filesystem? Can you boot the Live CD and see your filesystem?

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:28 pm

I'll give that a shot, make sure /boot isn't corrupted or something.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:38 pm

Did you use ext4 format? I don't recall ever having a filesystem problem I couldn't recover from but I have heard a couple of stories about ext4. I haven't personally used ext4 yet.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5715
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:42 pm

Also, can I assume you didn't make any BIOS changes (RAID BIOS specifically)?

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:20 am

Well, I finally got around to mounting the drives with VMware. Everything appears normal to me, I really don't know where to look. I'm going to start by copying the kernel from the Ubuntu install under VMware that clearly works.

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:44 am

It didn't do a thing, I got the same error screen. This is bizarre.

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:48 am

Well, it gets more bizarre. I just managed to boot the drive under VMware. I now sense this hardware issue is related to whatever wouldn't let me install Linux in the first place - which was solved when I installed to a seperate drive to my raid config. After I did that, I actually got an error like this the first time I tried to boot. I did nothing and tried again and it worked.

Post Reply