No sound in Drake 9.2

Place to discuss Mandriva Linux
Post Reply
Doogee
administrator
administrator
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

No sound in Drake 9.2

Post by Doogee » Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:17 am

Havent posted here in a long time but just last night i decided to install Mandrake 9.2.

Everything has gone smoothly apart from, as the topic suggests, i have no sound.

The operating system seems to beleive i have a soundcard, and it is succesfully detected and is setup using alsa.

The problem is that when i play mp3s in xmms the little bars move as if i was playing the song but no sound comes out. There is no sound anywhere else either.

I have done the basic stuff like checking that the volume is up and that but to no avail, i still have no sound.



Any suggestions would be really great....

Master of Reality
guru
guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:25 pm

Post by Master of Reality » Thu Nov 13, 2003 7:28 am

perhaps the permissions are wrong... what does "ls -l /dev/dsp" say? and while your at it what does "lsof /dev/dsp" output?
lsof will show if another program is using the sound. Xmms should give an error if either of these are wrong, but it might not.

Doogee
administrator
administrator
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

Post by Doogee » Thu Nov 13, 2003 7:38 am

Code: Select all

[dan@dans-computer dan]$ ls -l /dev/dsp
lr-xr-xr-x    1 root     root            9 Nov 13 19:56 /dev/dsp -> sound/dsp

Code: Select all

[root@dans-computer root]# lsof /dev/dsp
[root@dans-computer root]#

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Thu Nov 13, 2003 8:10 am

What did you use to change the volume? If you used an OSS mixer this could be the problem. Try using alsamixer, or gnome-alsamixer.

Doogee
administrator
administrator
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

Post by Doogee » Thu Nov 13, 2003 8:17 am

i just went into alsa mxer and the relevant volumes were already turned up.

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Thu Nov 13, 2003 9:07 am

Did you try to play audio in xmms using the ALSA plugin? It could be that it was trying to use OSS and OSS emulation is not actually turned on.

Also, try this for good measure:

chmod a+rw /dev/dsp /dev/mixer /dev/sequencer /dev/midi

A /sbin/lsmod|grep snd would be nice too :)

Doogee
administrator
administrator
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

Post by Doogee » Thu Nov 13, 2003 2:41 pm

i actually dont have an alsa pluging for xmms.
where could i get one?

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:34 pm

I was sure it came with the standard xmms release. Well it can be found here here. I think there is a high chance there will also be 'drake RPMs for it at the Penguin Liberation Front if you prefer to go about it that way.
You could even add PLF to your urpmi sources.

Doogee
administrator
administrator
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

Post by Doogee » Thu Nov 13, 2003 11:35 pm

Maybe ill just go back to slackware, she never failed me.

The alsa-xmms thing wont ocmpile

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Fri Nov 14, 2003 9:27 am

xmms-alsa-0.9.12-3mdk.i586.rpm you lilly livered Aussie!

Doogee
administrator
administrator
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:40 am

Post by Doogee » Mon Nov 17, 2003 3:32 am

ive switched to fedora now

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Mon Nov 17, 2003 9:48 am

OK

Post Reply