boot loader problem

Place to discuss Slackware
User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

boot loader problem

Post by cdhgold » Tue Jan 06, 2004 3:30 pm

i installed slack 9.1 and had it load into MBR .. i then insalled fc1 to dual boot the 2 but i screwed up and also had fc1 load to mbr so now i can't boot slack. any suggestions to fix it without relaoding either one?

Chris

Tux
guru
guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:40 am

Post by Tux » Tue Jan 06, 2004 4:21 pm

Put this in your /boot/grub/menu.lst

Code: Select all

title Slackware 9.1
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-ide-2.4.22 ro root=/dev/hda2
This assumes slackware is installed on the second partition of the first hard disk.
The 2nd partition is called (0,1) to grub. ie First disk (0), second partition(1).
You should observer it starts counting at 0.

Master of Reality
guru
guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:25 pm

Post by Master of Reality » Wed Jan 07, 2004 7:17 am

I dont think you need to have "root (hd0,0)" if you put "root=/dev/sda3" or whatever partition slackware is installed on.... at least i dont have it on any of mine.

so it would be just

Code: Select all

title Slackware 9.1
       kernel /boot/vmlinuz-ide-2.4.22 ro root=/dev/sda3
(i believe i saw you were using scsi in an earlier post.. ergo the sda3)

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Wed Jan 07, 2004 7:29 am

thanks for the advice. I added the follwing line to my grub.conf

kernal /boot/vmlinuz-raid-2.4.22 ro root=/dev/sda1

my drives are on a scsi raid 5 which is why i used raid in the command instead of ide because I had to use the raid.s image in slack to run also the slack partition is the first one one the drive. now when i boot i still get the following error message

rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format

Press any key to continue

any ideas?
thank again
chris

Master of Reality
guru
guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:25 pm

Post by Master of Reality » Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:59 am

oh.... well... errr...
first i must ask; is there in fact a /boot/vmlinuz-raid-2.4.22 in FC1?

If there isnt you may have to (in Fedora) mount /dev/sda1 (Slackware Partition?) and then copy the kernel from the Slackware partitions boot directory and copy it to Fedora's /boot

I know i had to do the opposite (copy Fedora's kernel to my Slackware /boot" when i made them dual boot.

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Wed Jan 07, 2004 1:05 pm

tried to mount the slack boot partition but get scrolling screens of errors ending in
system command exited with status 512
no manual entry for /dev/sda1

i have already created /mnt/slack directory and added entry in etc/fstab for /dev/sda1/ to mount to /mnt/slack

thanks for the help guys
Chris

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Jan 07, 2004 1:41 pm

cdhgold wrote: no manual entry for /dev/sda1
Heh heh, what command did you use to try and mount the partition? The above portion of the error would be the result of a "man /dev/sda1" not "mount /dev/dsa1". :)

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Wed Jan 07, 2004 2:10 pm

disregard that message i feel like a jack ass. was using man pages so much i used the wrong command but when i do

mount /dev/sda1
I get error of fs type not supported by kernal

Chris

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Wed Jan 07, 2004 2:17 pm

what filesystem type is it? is it XFS by any chance?

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Wed Jan 07, 2004 2:40 pm

ext3 is what i choose during slack install

chris

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Jan 07, 2004 3:09 pm

Try "mount -t ext3 /dev/sda1 /mnt/boot" (assuming /mnt/boot directory exists). Are you sure it's not reiser?

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Wed Jan 07, 2004 3:40 pm

VOID you kick ass that worked. what i don't understand is is fstab only looked at on boot? i had already added the line to my fstab but have not rebooted is that why it was not working?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Jan 07, 2004 3:42 pm

What that tells me is that there is an error in your fstab line if "mount /dev/sda1" did not work. Can you shoot me a copy of your fstab?

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Wed Jan 07, 2004 4:04 pm

this is on a sapre box at work and time to go home will send copy of fstab tommorrow thanks for the help guys ...

chris

User avatar
cdhgold
administrator
administrator
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:11 pm
Location: Texas

Post by cdhgold » Thu Jan 08, 2004 9:19 am

here is my grub.conf file and my fstab

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,2)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda5
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Fedora Core (2.4.22-1.2115.nptl)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.22-1.2115.nptl ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb
initrd /initrd-2.4.22-1.2115.nptl.img
title Slackware 9.1
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
kernal /boot/vmlinuz-ide-2.4.22 ro root=/dev/sda1

here is my fstab

LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/sda1 /mnt/slack
/dev/sda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/sda6 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0

after posting this now i see where my error concerning the mount is i didn't fill in all of the needed values. but my original problem remains i still get same error when trying to boot slackware. i have copied the vmlinuz-ide-2.4.22 file to my fc boot partition .

any suggestions?
chris

Post Reply