Help

Discuss Applications
sceithamer
user
user

Help

Post by sceithamer »

I have been trying to use KNOPPIX live cd. I downloaded the dvd version, burned it to a disk and rebooted my computer. I then get a non bootable disk error. I used Nero to burn the disk. I am not sure what I am doing wrong but I am very interested in trying Linux.

I really want to see how it works before I load a full version on my computer. Which I have noticed there are many different kinds. My wife will be using this computer so it will need to be user friendly. LOL Funny but very true. And since I have never used Linux before I have no idea what I am getting into. But Void Main has been talking this up on another forum so I thought I would give it a try. A couple of questions,

1- what Linux is easy to use?

2 – Is there a maul tie user ( like windows) available with Linux?

3 – Will all pc programs run on Linux. If I loaded Microsoft office on it would it run it.

4 – Is this a DOS program and if so will I be typing in commands in a command prompt or does it run like windows?

5 – If I went with Linux do any of the available versions actually load itself over windows or do I have to uninstall windows?

I hope these aren’t too ridiculous of questions. Thanks for the help.

Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Help

Post by Void Main »

sceithamer wrote:I have been trying to use KNOPPIX live cd. I downloaded the dvd version, burned it to a disk and rebooted my computer. I then get a non bootable disk error. I used Nero to burn the disk. I am not sure what I am doing wrong but I am very interested in trying Linux.
I'll just start by trying to help you with this first one. If you get a non bootable disk error then either the disk was burned incorrectly or the image is messed up. You first need to verify that the image is perfectly in tact. Here is a document to tell you how to check the md5 sum:

http://www.linuxiso.org/viewdoc.php/verifyiso.html