Hmmmmmmmmmm Mozilla Vs Konqueror

Discuss Applications
Post Reply
bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Hmmmmmmmmmm Mozilla Vs Konqueror

Post by bazoukas »

http://www.anonymizer.com/snoop/test_track.shtml



Go to the web site above with both Konqueror and Mozilla. Before you do that though do these:

ID mozilla as IE6.0

With Konqueror go to settings and unckeck "OS detection and Browser
Detection".

I found that their script had more troubles finding info about my system while using Konqueror.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main »

This is all if saw with Mozilla set as IE6 on XP:
Your Browser Is: Internet Explorer

Your Operating System is: Windows NT

Java is not enabled.

You can recognize the following file types through your browser:
text/xml,application/xml,application/xhtml+xml,text/html;q=0.9,
text/plain;q=0.8,video/x-mng,image/png,
image/jpeg,image/gif;q=0.2,text/css,*/*;q=0.1
With Konq set to IE5.5 on Win2k:
Your Operating System is: Windows NT

Your Browser Is: Internet Explorer

Java is not enabled.

You can recognize the following file types through your browser:
text/*, image/jpeg, image/png, image/*, */*
After unchecking OS detection:
Your Browser Is:

Your Operating System is:

Java is not enabled.

You can recognize the following file types through your browser:
text/*, image/jpeg, image/png, image/*, */*
All tests were able to figure out my city except for the Konq with user agent turned off. Actually I don't live in the city but near it, and that is easy to figure out just from the IP address. It could get nothing else from me in any of the above configurations.
Last edited by Void Main on Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by bazoukas »

seems Konqueror takes a point for not giving any info what so ever. Am sure that If someone really wanted too, could get more info though.

Too bad K doesnt have all the features that Mozilla has. Then again in the new version of KDE Konqueror FINALLY supports tabs.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main »

As long as you don't run around all over the place with JavaScript turned on it's fairly safe.

bazoukas
programmer
programmer
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by bazoukas »

Void Main wrote:As long as you don't run around all over the place with JavaScript turned on it's fairly safe.

*Must stop bouncing of different porn sites,,,,must resist...must remember to turn java off*

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum »

JavaScript reports the following info:
Application:Netscape
Version: 6.2
OS: Win32 : win
Family of browser: gecko
Organization: netscape
Language: en-US
Your Browser Is: Netscape
Netscape

Your Operating System is: Linux

-> JavaScript is working.
-->

Java is not enabled.
You can recognize the following file types through your browser:
text/xml,application/xml,application/xhtml+xml,text/html;q=0.9,text/plain;
q=0.8,video/x-mng,image/png,image/jpeg,image/gif;q=0.2,text/css,*/*;
q=0.1
this is using phoenix on windows 2000, with the following id:
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:0.9.4) Gecko/20011022 Netscape6/6.2
notice it thinks i am using linux and that my OS family is win32!

Post Reply