policy based routing?

Discuss Networking
Stryker
scripter
scripter

policy based routing?

Post by Stryker »

I believe policy based routing is what's best for my situation, but I have no experience in it and am not sure exactly how to set it up. Here is my situation: I have 2 network adapters, eth0 and eth1. eth0 has 64.34.37.224/27 with a gw of 64.34.37.225. eth1 has 204.15.230.0/24 with 204.15.230.1. I have them both online and working fine by just adding the default gateways to the routing table. However, whenever there's a request on eth1, the response is sent out via eth0. I wouldn't normally consider this a problem, but the link on eth0 is quite a bit more expensive to use and they're seperated for a reason.

Actually, at this point in my post, I think I got it working, but I don't wanna delete anything in case I did something wrong. Here is what I have:

Code: Select all

ip rule add from 64.34.37.224/27 table 1
ip route add default table 1 via 64.34.37.225
ip rule add from 204.15.230.0/24 table 2
ip route add default table 2 via 204.15.230.1
This appears to be working, I need to wait a while for cacti to update enough for me to see the difference. But does it look right?

Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Void Main »

If you want return traffic to go out the same interface it came in on then I think that looks right. Let me know how it works out. It should be easy to test. Just fire up tcpdump/ethereal on both interfaces and connect to each ip address and see where the reply traffic goes. Otherwise, if you just want most of your return traffic to go out your less expensive interface then all you would have to do is set your default route to go out that interface as I am sure you know.

Nice article:
http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/7291

Stryker
scripter
scripter

Post by Stryker »

it doesn't seem to work perfectly

I have to add the ip address specifically it looks like, such as:

ip rule add from 64.34.37.233/27 table 1