bind

Discuss Networking
Post Reply
X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

bind

Post by X11 »

Bind is not working for me (I once again set up a a server and its object is to annoy me).

I used webmin to set it up, heres me trying to resolve stuff, it just wont work.

[root@john-nike root]# host billy-nra.home
Host billy-nra.home not found: 2(SERVFAIL)

Please ask me where I should look, or I can just give you an ssh account.

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 »

Nevermind I fixed it...

How do I block out domains...

(microsoft.com, microsuck.com, etc)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main »

X11 wrote:How do I block out domains...

(Micro$oft.com, microsuck.com, etc)
Just create zones for them but don't put any hosts in the zone files (or point them somewhere else like IP addresses from "www.redhat.com").

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 »

Cool, knew it would be easy, but consulted first so that I dont break anything.

What command did you use to tar all your named files, I want to do that to back them up, so next time I dont have to do all this again. I also want to move the configuration to a backup server.

My next step is setting up squid, I already run privoxy.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main »

X11 wrote:What command did you use to tar all your named files
Uh, tar. :)
I want to do that to back them up, so next time I dont have to do all this again. I also want to move the configuration to a backup server.
That's pretty much what I do. I have a cron job set up to make tar backups of at least critical configuration files and data nightly, keeping a few revisions. I also have cron jobs set up to pull those nightly tar backups from all of my machines and place them on a totally different machine in a backup partition via ssh.
My next step is setting up squid, I already run privoxy.
I'm not familiar with privoxy but plenty familiar with Squid.

Post Reply