Discuss Programming
shira
user
user

this section deserves a topic in it

Post by shira »

to keep it on topic...

What programming languages do you know

I know some C++ and Qbasic (as well as a bunch of the BASIC spinoffs since they are all pretty alike)

I shouldn't mention QB since it is a M$ language but oh well

Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Void Main »

Well, I've been doing this for a long time although for the last 8 years or so I would say I have been doing 80% administration/engineering and 20% programming. For about 12 years prior to that I was closer to 100% programming. Let's see if I can remember all the languages I programmed somewhat extensively in.. C, Pascal, FORTRAN, PV-WAVE, ARCINFO, SAS, CLIST, ASM, ADA, COBOL, Perl, PHP, REXX, ksh/sh/bash, BATCH, several incarnations of Basic (including some VB). Hmmm, I know there are a few I am forgetting.

But like I said, I have been less programmer over the last 8 years so some of the above would be alien to me today, others would take a little brusing up but I am fairly proficient at most of the scripting languages because that is what I use most often anymore (Perl/PHP/Shell).

shira
user
user

Post by shira »

I know some C too but I find C++ to be more efficient

Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Void Main »

shira wrote:I know some C too but I find C++ to be more efficient
I have programmed for so many years in non OO languages that I just can't get the hang of C++, Java, etc.. God knows I've tried. I guess the old saying must be true "you can't teach an old dog new tricks".

shira
user
user

Post by shira »

Void Main wrote:I have programmed for so many years in non OO languages that I just can't get the hang of C++, Java, etc.. God knows I've tried. I guess the old saying must be true "you can't teach an old dog new tricks".
I've heard that php and C++ are pretty similar so you're part of the way there

Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Void Main »