Power on after power failure

Place to discuss anything, almost. No politics, religion, Microsoft, or anything else that I (the nazi censor) deem inappropriate.
Post Reply
User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Power on after power failure

Post by Void Main » Tue Jun 15, 2004 5:18 pm

I just don't get it. I thought these power failure problems would be gone since getting the new Void web machine. I get home and it appears there was a power failure and the Void machine did not power back up. Luckily it looks like it was only down for about an hour and a half. I pushed the power button and it comes on. I check in the BIOS and it's set to "power on after power failure" which in my feeble little mind means that it should "power on after power failure". What am I missing? Is there something with the power supply that I have to set or what? It's a little frustrating.

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:09 pm

Man I had a similiar problem some time ago...

Then I discovered the bloody thing switches off when there is a
"brown out" or the power goes on - and while its doing the POST
the power fails again - then the machine does not do a proper reboot.

The one ASUS board that I have is specially sensitive to this...
it will even switch off - while on the UPS - and the power dips
or goes off and on quickly..

I have now moved all my "live" systems to my other machine
because of this..

So after all that - I think it might just be the board - they do
seem to have a mind of their own - never mind the BIOS - heh heh

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:15 pm

That must be it. I guess I should expect as much since I only paid 10 bucks total for both the motherboard *and* the processor brand new from TigerDirect.com. Thanks caveman!

X11
guru
guru
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by X11 » Thu Jul 08, 2004 8:37 am

Interestingly my computer and my firewall are susposed to do the same, the other day I came back home and every ATX computer was off, all my others had rebooted, yet, all the clocks in the house (we dont bother putting backup batterys in anything in my house) had reset

Post Reply