Firefox bugs me

Place to discuss anything, almost. No politics, religion, Microsoft, or anything else that I (the nazi censor) deem inappropriate.
Post Reply
caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Firefox bugs me

Post by caveman » Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:46 am

Eventually got the guts together and did a clean
install of FC3 on my development machine (was FC1),
(Except with the TNT / NVidia problem - which may be fixed),
I am actually very happy with it..

BUT... Firefox???
Damn - it drives me nuts...
The BackButton, right click and Back or the menu item "Go"---
none of them do what I expect....
Everything turns to pure spaghetti ....
multiple copies of the program mixes and matches the history...
I am used to jumping deep down a thread then use "Go"
to jump back and go down another set of threads... or just use
RCB a few times ---- and then go down another path ftom there..
BUT NOW! wow! - there is no way I can get any of that to work...
accidently pressing the BackArrow and you may find yourself in
a totally different old thread..
I really hate the way they're handling the history..

Reckon I'll uninstall it - and go back to the standard Mozilla.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:54 am

I never really noticed that. Having said that I still use Mozilla as my primary browser. The nice thing about FC3 is now you can have both Firefox AND Mozilla installed and launch them independently. Of course you could install them before and have them work that way but not without some work. I like some Mozilla plugins that don't work with Firefox, most notably the prefbar (http://prefbar.mozdev.org/). I also am a big fan of AdBlock (http://adblock.mozdev.org/) but I think that also works with Firefox...

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:15 pm

yep - I agree..

The prefbar was one of the things I missed as well..

By the way - this is now viewed using Mozilla.
For now - bye bye Firefox.

Saying this - I reckon I'll stay with mozilla mail as well...
at least I'm used to it.

Just having a problem finding all the mozilla stuff on the install CDs.

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:27 pm

They're on there somewhere. I usually just apt-get it and forget it. :) Here's the list in the OS section of the FreshRPMS apt repo:

http://ayo.freshrpms.net/fedora/linux/3/i386/RPMS.os/

mozilla-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozilla-chat-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozilla-devel-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozilla-dom-inspector-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozilla-js-debugger-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozilla-mail-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozilla-nspr-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozilla-nspr-devel-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozilla-nss-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozilla-nss-devel-1.7.3-17.i386.rpm
mozplugger-1.6.2-1.i386.rpm

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Wed Nov 24, 2004 1:08 pm

the prefbar has always worked with firefox! i understand some people might have some complaints with firefox, but i think it's on its way to being a winner. however despite many webpages i've seen about certain versions of the prefbar not working with firefox, i have tried many versions of firefox, and have always attempted to install the latest prefbar in it (whatever that was at the time) successfully. so what's everybody going on about? it seems *very* unlikely that i just got lucky every single time...

anyway, each to their own, it's all about choice after all (and i prefer epiphany anyway)

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Nov 24, 2004 1:57 pm

L I B, M R Ducks. Thanks Calum!! I will no longer spread these uninformed lies. I never really meant it in a derogatory way, they just didn't work with Firefox the last time I tried it (Firefox .6 or .7 I believe). Now my Mozilla and Firefox are nearly equal for how I use them.

caveman
programmer
programmer
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Midrand Gauteng, South Africa

Post by caveman » Wed Nov 24, 2004 2:18 pm

hmmmm....

ditto Void.

While getting the prefsbar for mozilla -
I saw what my problem with firefox was as well... the prefbar
I had is not compatible with firefox...
Installing the latest - and it worked...
(that was just to confirm what my problem was)

But then, as I said - I'll stay with Mozilla for now as
I don't like the history handling in Firefox.

insomnia
programmer
programmer
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by insomnia » Wed Nov 24, 2004 7:50 pm

Using RPM's, Firefox never really worked for me.
I'll have to agree that all RPM builts I've used were all buggy.
However, once installed from source everything does what it has to do.
I'm still looking for better RPMs tho...

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:47 pm

I think the RPMS of Firefox that come with FC3 are the best I have seen. Everything works perfect for me and it's the first time I have ever seen the fonts set up properly. Like I said though, at this point Mozilla and Firefox are nearly identical for how I use them so it really doesn't matter which one I use (I still use Mozilla though). :)

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Sat Nov 27, 2004 10:41 am

i've been using rpms of it since they came up on apt repositories (i was using debian at the time actually, because i remember it appeared there before it came on any red hat repositories) and by and large they have been OK, although you're right, there have been a few turkeys rpmwise.

the binary linux tarballs from mozilla.org though i have found to be mostly rock solid (not necessarily including the nightlies, but definitely the milestones have been very good). i had this thing recently though where i had an rpm version installed (the latest from the apt repository) which worked fine, but firefox came up with this "your version of firefox has a vulnerability, please update" message, so i dutifuly followed the instructions to update (which it doesn't tell you you need to be root to do, obvious, but not to the uninitiated) and then after the update, firefox was screwed! totally useless, the address bar no longer worked! half the menu options did nothing, it was, in a word, arsed.

so i do think it depends on which particular version you install etc, and it is in some ways a work in progress, but then isn't all open source software after all?

blackbelt_jones
n00b
n00b
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 3:48 am

Post by blackbelt_jones » Sat Jan 29, 2005 8:39 am

I like having both Firefox and Straight Mozilla.. Firefox is great for downloading porn from my favorite paysite. Firfox makes 1 click downloading possible, and auomatically renames the file if it has same name as a different file. On the other hand it crashes-- whatever distro I'm using, including Windows, firefox crashes A LOT! So I prefer Mozilla navigator for surfing

I'm not exactly clear why all of a sudden firefox is the default distro on everything... I guess there must be a lot of people downloading porn.

User avatar
Calum
guru
guru
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 11:32 am
Location: Bonny Scotland
Contact:

Post by Calum » Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:02 am

they have fixed the crashing on downloads thing in versions 1.0 and higher.

worker201
guru
guru
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 6:38 pm
Location: Hawaii

Post by worker201 » Tue Feb 01, 2005 3:20 pm

Firefox has been running fairly well since I first installed FC3. There was a problem for awhile with mozplugger, which made it impossible to reconfigure helper aps, but removing mozplugger solved the problem. So, I'm digging the Firefox for Linux surfing.

Post Reply