Mounting ext3 in that other OS.

Place to discuss anything, almost. No politics, religion, Microsoft, or anything else that I (the nazi censor) deem inappropriate.
Post Reply
JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Mounting ext3 in that other OS.

Post by JoeDude » Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:51 am

I know, this is not a windows help forum. I am not actually asking for windows help. I am wondering, has anyone used this before and what will the implications on my linux system be if I do it. I kind of like the idea of not making a fat32 or ntfs partition just to store files so my wife can use them on XP. This way, I could configure the thunderbird and firefox files so they share and are universal between me on Linux and my wife on XP. All those other files (like movies, tv shows, pictures) could be shared universally as well.

Any way, the true question I guess is, when (not if) XP crashes, if the ext3 partitions are mounted, will it screw up the journalling table to where linux won't be able to use it anymore?

Master of Reality
guru
guru
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:25 pm

Post by Master of Reality » Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:46 pm

Get your wife to use linux would be the easiest solution.

That driver doesnt do journalling as far as i know, it will be treated as an ext2 filesystem.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:36 am

According to the web site, if windows were to crash while using this, it would mess up the journalling. It tells you how to repair the journal, so that's not a problem. What I'm worried about is long term effects on my ext3 partitions, could it be damaging? If so, I would just carry on sharing a fat32 partition.

Actually, I am winning on the linux front with her, she uses Ubuntu a whole lot more now than she used to, and even messes around some on the Debian box. I even caught her saying XP sucks 2 days ago. Which makes me happy, I figure I got the $250.00 worth of use out of it since I bought it in 2001. Funny enough, I have only paid for linux once...and haven't since...

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:06 pm

So far, the only way it has affected my linux is with time. I was using UTC. When I booted back into linux, the filesystems were fully in tact, however, my "clock was in the future". Linux fixed this, and rebooted on it's own. I don't know if this will screw my linux side up, so I'm ditching it (the program that is, not linux).

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:25 pm

You are using UTC on your Linux clock or on this driver? I never use the UTC setting in the clock config in Linux otherwise the clock won't match between OSs.

JoeDude
administrator
administrator
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Sutton Coldfield, UK
Contact:

Post by JoeDude » Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:37 pm

I don't anymore. I also haven't had that error on boot since I switched either. I was using UTC in Both OS's and in the bios. I figured it would be fine, since I do happen to live in "Zulu Time" now. Apparently...leap seconds are a bit difficult...

Lord C
scripter
scripter
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2003 9:20 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by Lord C » Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:06 pm

Void Main wrote:You are using UTC on your Linux clock or on this driver? I never use the UTC setting in the clock config in Linux otherwise the clock won't match between OSs.
Just out of curiosity Void, what OS' do you have installed?

User avatar
Void Main
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5716
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 5:24 am
Location: Tuxville, USA
Contact:

Post by Void Main » Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:42 pm

On the laptop I'm using right now (owned by my work) I am running Fedora 7 and XP. It was given to me with XP on it and I shrunk the partition down, put Fedora on, installed VMware under Fedora and boot XP from the raw partition it's installed on as a VMware guest. It can be booted standalone as well of course. Clock works fine on both. This is what is in my /etc/sysconfig/clock file:

Code: Select all

ZONE="America/Chicago"
UTC=false
ARC=false

Post Reply